Research guides: Visual Culture and Film Studies: View Films

Public Libraries

Borrow the video from a local public library.

Waterloo Public Library
Membership at Waterloo Public Library is FREE to persons residing or owning property within the boundaries of the City of Waterloo and to persons residing in communities with whom Waterloo Public Library has reciprocal borrowing agreements (Region of Waterloo, County of Brant Public Library, Hamilton Public Library and, starting January 1, 2020, Guelph Public Library).
Kitchener Public Library
"Library cards are free to all people who live in Kitchener. Reciprocal borrowing allows library customers from participating communities to receive borrowing privileges. Communities included in this agreement are Cambridge, Waterloo, and Waterloo Region."
Cambridge Public Library
"It’s easy and free to get a library card for Cambridge residents. You can still get a Cambridge Libraries card at no cost if you live outside of the city and ... live in Kitchener, Waterloo, Waterloo Region, Hamilton Region, or Brant County"
Guelph Public Library
"Cards are issued free of charge to those who live in and/or pay taxes to the City of Guelph. There is a charge of $50 for a six-month membership or $100 for a one-year membership for those who do not reside in the city. "

UW's Film Collection & How to View Films

University of Waterloo Media Resources (IST) maintains a collection of over 30,000 streaming titles and 9,500 physical resources (i.e. DVDs, 16mm, VHS).

Search for films in the Media catalog

Streaming video portals

Resources and guidelines for streaming

Access the over 30,000 titles on streaming platforms provided by the University of Waterloo Media Resources (IST). Available streaming platforms include:

Criterion on Demand: Over 3000 feature films and feature documentaries on campus (IP authenticated) for both streaming and time-limited download. Use Mozilla Firefox browser.
Digitalia Film Library: Selection of international feature films and documentaries from the Latin American collection, European collection and more.

To view a physical resource the collection

Online Sources

Europa Film
European cinematographic heritage
Moving Images
From the Internet Archive movie archive.
National Film Board of Canada
Documentaries, animation, shorts, and informational films. Many are freely available for online viewing.
AdViews: Digital collection of historic commercials
This collection provides free access to thousands of commercials created between 1950s to 1980s.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!

Visual Culture and Film Studies: View Films

About this Page

Public Libraries

UW's Film Collection & How to View Films

Online Sources