Research guides: Political Science Research Guide: Articles, books, book reviews

Databases of political science literature

These databases can often allow you to do more targeted searches than is possible using Omni, the library catalogue.

Politics Collection (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of scholarly journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, and government documents.
Coverage: 1919 - present
Comprises 4 databases: Political Science Collection (1985 - present), Worldwide Political Science (1975 - present), Policy File Index (1990 - present) , and PAIS International (1919 - present).
Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Canadian Research Index
Indexes and, in many cases, provides links to Canadian government documents from federal and provincial departments and agencies.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Most of the material identified in the Canadian Research Index corresponds to the "Microlog Collection" located in Dana Porter Library's microform area, 1st (basement) floor. These are filed with call numbers beginning with: CA7.P__. If you cannot find a title, or would like assistance using the micro collection or microscanner, please, just ask Library staff.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Papers, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs relating to international affairs.
Coverage: 1991 - present
Find working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO also includes case studies written by international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.
Dissertations and Theses Global
Full text of many North American, European, United Kingdom and Ireland graduate students theses and dissertations.
Coverage: Indexing 1637-, Full Text 1997-
EconLit
Economic literature relating to business administration, economic development, economic history, industrial organization and macroeconomics.
Coverage: 1969 - present
GenderWatch
Find research on a wide range of gender issues relating to women, men, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+). Topics include sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Coverage: 1970 - present
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Identify journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews, from around the world relating to anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - present
JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)
PAIS International
Indexes public and social policy literature on business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences.
Coverage: 1915 - present

Find book reviews

These databases lead to expert commentaries about published books

Book Review Digest Plus
Find reviews of books on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources.
Coverage: 1903 - present

H-Net Reviews
Coverage: 1990 - present. Reviews in the humanities and social sciences.

JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)
London Review of Books
Book reviews and essays. Includes art and film reviews, poems and letters.
Coverage: 1979 - present
New York Review of Books
Reviews of books from a variety of genres: biographies and memoirs; food and wine; essays and criticism; history; poetry; politics; current affairs; science; philosophy; crime; visual and performing arts.
Coverage: 1963 - present

A-DS: 6th floor

A -- General works. Encyclopedias
B -- Philosophy. Psychology. Religion
C -- Auxiliary sciences of history such as chronology, heraldry, and genealogy
D -- DS World history and history of Europe, Asia

DS-HE: 7th floor

DS -- DX Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Romanies
E -- History of the United States including pre-settlement
F -- History of the United States (state level), Canada, Latin America, Caribbean
G -- Geography. Anthropology. Recreation
H -- HE Economics

HF-NK3999: 8th floor

HF -- HX: Finance. Sociology. Women's history. Sexuality. Socialism
J -- Political science
K -- Law
L -- Education
M -- Music
N -- NK Fine arts and Architecture

NK4000-PR6067: 9th floor

NK-NX Arts in general
P -- PR Language and literature

PR6068-Z: 10 floor

PR Language and literature
Q -- Science. Mathematics
R -- Medicine. History of medicine
S -- Agriculture
T -- Technology
U -- Military science
V -- Naval science
Z -- Bibliography. Library science