Civil and Environmental Engineering: Databases

Many of the databases have a GetIt!@Waterloo button beside each abstract. If we subscribe to that journal online it can be a quick way to connect to the article.

Key Databases for Civil & Environmental Engineering

Civil Engineering Database
Full text of journal articles since 1990 and conference papers since about 2000.

ScienceDirect
Articles and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.
ICE Virtual Library
Collection of civil engineering, construction and materials science publications that disseminate best practice, expert advice, and research.
Coverage: 1836 - present
Fluid Mechanics Online
Provides information on the mathematics behind fluid flows through experimental and computational demonstrations.
Coverage: varies
Contains interactive demonstrations and animations, virtual labs and simulations, and videos. It covers Mathematics, Engineering, Fluid Dynamics and Solid Mechanics, Thermal-Fluids Engineering.

Environment & Water

Canadian Research Index
Indexes and, in many cases, provides links to Canadian government documents from federal and provincial departments and agencies.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Most of the material identified in the Canadian Research Index corresponds to the "Microlog Collection" located in Dana Porter Library's microform area, 1st (basement) floor. These are filed with call numbers beginning with: CA7.P__. If you cannot find a title, or would like assistance using the micro collection or microscanner, please, just ask Library staff.

Transportation

Geotechnical

GEOSCAN
Bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan).
Coverage: pre-confederation to present
GEOSCAN features records primarily of the Earth Sciences (Geological Survey of Canada publications, National Atlas maps, Topographic maps, Remote sensing publications). It also includes Mining, Materials and Energy, and publications authored by NRCan scientists and specialists.

Petroleum Engineering

ASCE Library
Contains American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) journals, books, standards, conference proceedings, and manuals of practice.
Coverage: Journals 1995 - present; conferences 1998 or 2001 - present
Technical and professional interest areas include aerospace, architectural, coastal and ocean, computing, construction, energy, geotechnical, hydraulic, materials, management, professional Issues, structural, transportation, urban planning, and water resources.
OnePetro
Technical literature on oil and gas exploration and production.
Coverage: Varies
Operated by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the content varies, comprising mostly journal articles and conference proceedings.

Structural Mechanics & Construction

Materials Science & Engineering Database
Information on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the following databases: Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, and METADEX. It provides content on everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling.

SpringerMaterials
Covers multiple material classes, property types, and applications for identifying material properties.
Coverage: Current
The collections included in SpringerMaterials are: Landolt-Bornstein, Inorganic Solid Phases, MSI Eureka, Polymer Thermodynamics, Substance Profile, Thermophysical Properties.

Journal articles and books not available in Omni

If the material you need is not available in Omni, you can request it using the blank request form found at the top of the Omni results screen under Interlibrary Loan.

Suggest a purchase
Suggestions for new library acquisitions are welcomed using this form to recommend a purchase.