Peace and Conflict Studies: PACS 203/Hist 232

• Biographical Dictionary of Modern Peace Leaders
  Milton Good Library Reference JX1962.A2B56 1985
• Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
  Also available in print: MIlton Good Library Reference JX5533.095 2010
• Protest, Power and Change: An Encyclopedia of Nonviolent Action from ACT-UP to Women's Suffrage
  Milton Good Library Reference HM278.P76 1997

A search in Omni, the library catalogue, includes journal articles, newspaper articles, reviews, and conference proceedings available through many, though not all of the library's electronic subscription databases. Omni is a great place to begin a search for peace and conflict studies resources.. However, if your research takes you very deeply into a topic, you will want to search databases such as the ones listed here.

For a nearly-comprehensive list of the databases available through the University of Waterloo, listed by subject area, see the Research Databases page.

• Peace & Change (journal of the Peace History Society)
  Publishes scholarly and interpretive articles on the achievement of a peaceful, just, and humane society. International and interdisciplinary in focus, the journal bridges the gap between peace researchers, educators, and activists. It publishes articles on a wide range of peace-related topics, including peace movements and activism, conflict resolution, nonviolence, internationalism, race and gender issues, cross-cultural studies, economic development, the legacy of imperialism, and the post-Cold War upheaval. (from the website)

• Peace Magazine publishes a range of articles on peace issues -- technically accurate, yet intelligible to any reader with a general education and some interest in international affairs and global security.
   
• Swarthmore College Peace Collection: Resources (online) on Peace Research and History. This page lists links to web sites about the history of peace organizations and peace advocates. Note that some of the links on this page may not be current, but the content can often by found by doing an independent web search.
   
• Mennonite conscientious objection in Ontario during the First and Second World Wars
  • Conchies Speak: Ontario Mennonites in Alternative Service, 1941-1946 (online exhibit)
  • Sites of Nonresistance: Ontario Mennonites and the First World War (online exhibit)
  • Ontario Mennonites and the First World War (digital archives)
     
• The Wayback Machine

  Since organizations change their websites often, these texts can disappear from search engine results. Try the Internet Archive WayBack Machine  to search former websites.

  1. Go to the WayBack Machine
  2. Enter a website URL, or specific web page URL if you know it
  3. From the calendar, choose a year and date for the archived website "snapshot"
  4. Navigate the archived website to search for the text