Skip to main content

LIBRARY

RefWorks: Databases B-D

BDSL Online

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Save the citations by selecting Speichern, near the top right of the page.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Under Auswahlliste, at the bottom of the left navigation menu, look for the word Export. You will see two choices: Dublin core and Text. Select Dublin Core.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. A new window will open with the Dublin Core file. Select all the information and copy.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Log in to your RefWorks account. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Select Bibliographe der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenshaft as the data source and Dublin Core as the database.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. In the "From Text" section, paste the Dublin Core text into the box below. Click on Import.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Your references will be in the Last Imported folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

BDSL Online (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Save the citations by selecting Speichern, near the top right of the page.

2. Under Auswahlliste, at the bottom of the left navigation menu, look for the word Export. You will see two choices: Dublin core and Text. Select Dublin Core.

3. A new window will open with the Dublin Core file. Select all the information and copy.

4. Log in to your RefWorks account. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

5. Select Bibliographe der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenshaft as the data source and Dublin Core as the database.

6. In the "From Text" section, paste the Dublin Core text into the box below. Click on Import.

7. Your references will be in the Last Imported folder.

Back To Top

Biological Sciences

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Biological Sciences (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

BioMed Central

1. Conduct your search and mark the references you want to export to RefWorks.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. In the Send section of the Search Results Page, select which records you want to send. Select Send to: RefWorks. Note: you have two options with or without abstracts. Click Send.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

BioMed Central (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the references you want to export to RefWorks.

2. In the Send section of the Search Results Page, select which records you want to send. Select Send to: RefWorks. Note: you have two options with or without abstracts. Click Send.

3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

BioOne Abstracts & Indexes

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot of step 4


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 5




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot of step 4


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot of step 5




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot of step 6


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot of step 7



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 8

Back To Top

BioOne Abstracts & Indexes (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Book Review Digest

For Direct Export



1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."



Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.



5. Click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. From the File menu select "Save As."



Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


Back To Top

Book Review Digest (text only)

For Direct Export

1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.

4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."

5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

 

To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".

4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."

Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.

5. Click "Save."

6. From the File menu select "Save As."

Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."

7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.

8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.

10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Back To Top

Books in Print

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click on Download.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Select Standard Download and click Go.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Select ASCII and Full Record as the record format and click on Go.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Using your browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file. The file will have a .gpb extension. Select Text as the file type. Click Save.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. Select BooksInPrint as the data source and BooksInPrint (ASCII Full Record) as the database.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Books in Print (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click on Download.

2. Select Standard Download and click Go.

3. Select ASCII and Full Record as the record format and click on Go.

4. Using your browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file. The file will have a .gpb extension. Select Text as the file type. Click Save.

5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

6. Select BooksInPrint as the data source and BooksInPrint (ASCII Full Record) as the database.

7. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.

Back To Top

Cairn

1. Conduct a search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.

 

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Click on Ma Bibliographie at the bottom of the page.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Click Exporter vers RefWorks.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Cairn (text only)

1. Conduct a search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.

2. Click on Ma Bibliographie at the bottom of the page.

3. Click Exporter vers RefWorks.

4. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Canadian Research Index

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot of step 4


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 5




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot of step 4


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot of step 5




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot of step 6


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot of step 7



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 8

Back To Top

Canadian Research Index (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

CBCA Complete

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot of step 4


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 5




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot of step 4


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot of step 5




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot of step 6


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot of step 7



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 8

Back To Top

CBCA Complete (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot of step 4


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 5




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot of step 4


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot of step 5




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot of step 6


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot of step 7



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 8

Back To Top

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Waterloo

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot of step 4


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 5




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot of step 1


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot of step 2


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot of step 3



Screen shot of step 3


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot of step 4


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot of step 5




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot of step 6


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot of step 7



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot of step 8

Back To Top

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Waterloo (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top