Skip to main content

LIBRARY

RefWorks: Databases Q-Z

Readers' Guide Full Text

For Direct Export



1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."



Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.



5. Click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. From the File menu select "Save As."



Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


Back To Top

Readers' Guide Full Text (text only)

For Direct Export

1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.

4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."

5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

 

To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".

4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."

Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.

5. Click "Save."

6. From the File menu select "Save As."

Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."

7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.

8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.

10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Repère

NOTE: Direct export not currently supported


Manually Entering References:

1. Select the "New Reference" button, or, "Reference" and "Add New" from the top menu.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. An "Add New Reference" window will pop up. You can select a citation style, which will refresh the window, presenting only the fields required for the selected style, or leave it as "None Selected." Once you have selected a style, an "About This Style" link will appear, which gives you notes and specifications on the style. It will not close the window.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. Select the type of resource you are adding. Be as specific as possible. If the reference type is not available, choose the one that is the closest match.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

4. Populate as many fields as you can. RefWorks will automatically offer suggestions in some fields, such as authors you have previously cited or journal names. If there are other fields you would like to add, or need to add because the reference type is not exact, you can select those at the bottom. When you are done, click "Save Reference." You can edit your reference at any time. If you would like to immediately enter another reference manually, choose "Save & Add New" instead.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


Back To Top


Repère (text only)

NOTE: Direct export not currently supported


Manually Entering References:

1. Select the "New Reference" button, or, "Reference" and "Add New" from the top menu.

2. An "Add New Reference" window will pop up. You can select a citation style, which will refresh the window, presenting only the fields required for the selected style, or leave it as "None Selected." Once you have selected a style, an "About This Style" link will appear, which gives you notes and specifications on the style. It will not close the window.

3. Select the type of resource you are adding. Be as specific as possible. If the reference type is not available, choose the one that is the closest match.

4. Populate as many fields as you can. RefWorks will automatically offer suggestions in some fields, such as authors you have previously cited or journal names. If there are other fields you would like to add, or need to add because the reference type is not exact, you can select those at the bottom. When you are done, click "Save Reference." You can edit your reference at any time. If you would like to immediately enter another reference manually, choose "Save & Add New" instead.

Back To Top

Science Direct Direct Import

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click Export Citations.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Select Citations + Abstracts to export the record's abstracts. Select the RefWorks Direct Export and click Export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Science Direct Direct Import (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click Export Citations.

2. Select Citations + Abstracts to export the record's abstracts. Select the RefWorks Direct Export and click Export.

3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Science Direct Manual Import

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click Export Citations.



Sci Direct Search

2. Select Citations + Abstracts to export the record's abstracts. Select RIS format and click Export.


Sci Direct Export

3. Select Save and choose a file location.


Sci Direct Save

4. Log into RefWorks and select "References" and then "Import"


ref works


5. Change Import Filter/Datasource to RIS Format and the database to Scopus. Select Browse to locate the RIS file. Select "Import"


refworks upload

Science Direct Manual Import (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click Export Citations.

2. Select Citations + Abstracts to export the record's abstracts. Select RIS format and click Export.

3. Select Save and choose a file location.

4. Log into RefWorks and select "References" and then "Import"

5. Change Import Filter/Datasource to RIS Format and the database to Scopus. Select Browse to locate the RIS file. Select "Import"

SciFinder

Note:


1 To get started.


   Register for an account.


   Use your UW email account.


   Register while on campus or via proxy server.



2 I'm ready to search!


   Search SciFinder Web


   Please remember to log off when you are finished.


For more information, please go to http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/Ejournals/passwords/goscifinder.html





1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click Export from the top of the search screen.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Select Tagged Format as the file type. Click Export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Select Text as the file type. Click Save.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Select CAS Scifinder as the data source and CAPlus as the database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

SciFinder (text only)

Note:


1 To get started.


   Register for an account.


   Use your UW email account.


   Register while on campus or via proxy server.

2 I'm ready to search!


   Search SciFinder Web


   Please remember to log off when you are finished.


For more information, please go to http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/Ejournals/passwords/goscifinder.html


1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. Click Export from the top of the search screen.

2. Select Tagged Format as the file type. Click Export.

3. Select Text as the file type. Click Save.

4. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

5. Select CAS Scifinder as the data source and CAPlus as the database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.

Back To Top

Scopus Direct Import

1. Conduct your search, and select the box next to each article you wish to export to RefWorks.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Select "Export" from the menu bar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Select RefWorks direct export. Adjust the output style to reflect how much information you need from the reference. Click "Export."





4. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Scopus (text only)

1. Conduct your search, and select the box next to each article you wish to export to RefWorks.

2. Select "Export" from the menu bar.

3. Select RefWorks direct export. Adjust the output style to reflect how much information you need from the reference. Click "Export."

4. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

Back To Top

Scopus Manual Import

1. Conduct your search, and select the box next to each article you wish to export to RefWorks.

scopus search



2. Select "Export" from the menu bar.

Scopus Export



3. Change Export format from RefWorks direct export to RIS format. Adjust the output style to Complete format. Click "Export."

Scopus Output



4. Choose a location for the RIS file, for example the Desktop

desktop save



5. Log into RefWorks and select "References" and then "Import"

Ref Works Import



6. Change Import Filter/Data Source to RIS Format and the database to Scopus. Select Browse to locate the RIS file. Select "Import."

RefWorks file upload

Scopus Manual Import (text only)

1. Conduct your search, and select the box next to each article you wish to export to RefWorks.

2. Select "Export" from the menu bar.

3. Change Export format from RefWorks direct export to RIS format. Adjust the output style to Complete format. Click "Export"

4. Choose a location for the RIS file, for example the Desktop

5. Log into RefWorks and select "References" and then "Import"

6. Change Import Filter/Data Source to RIS Format and the database to Scopus. Select Browse to locate the RIS file. Select "Import."

OECD Library

1. Conduct your search, then click on the title of the item you wish to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Click the "Cite this chapter" button.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Under "Download to," click the "Import into RefWorks."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

OECD Library (text only)

1. Conduct your search, then click on the title of the item you wish to export.

2. Click the "Cite this chapter" button.

3. Under "Download to," click the "Import into RefWorks."

4. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Social Sciences Full Text

For Direct Export



1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."



Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.



5. Click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. From the File menu select "Save As."



Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


Back To Top

Social Sciences Full Text (text only)

For Direct Export

1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.

4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."

5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

 

To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".

4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."

Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.

5. Click "Save."

6. From the File menu select "Save As."

Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."

7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.

8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.

10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Social Services Abstracts

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Social Services Abstracts (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Sociological Abstracts

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Sociological Abstracts (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

SPIE Digital Library

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. In the Options for Selected Articles, click "Download Citation."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Select RefWorks and click "Download."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. A new window will appear with your references. Using your browser's Save As function, save the page as a plain text (.txt) file.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the data source and Tagged Format as the database.Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

SPIE Digital Library (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks. In the Options for Selected Articles, click "Download Citation."

2. Select RefWorks and click "Download."

3. A new window will appear with your references. Using your browser's Save As function, save the page as a plain text (.txt) file.

4. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

5. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the data source and Tagged Format as the database.Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.

Back To Top

SpringerLink

Note: If you have an ISI ResearchSoft product (Reference Manager, EndNote or ProCite) installed on your computer the following directions may not work. An ISI Helper application may have been installed on your computer that is automatically called. It will not allow you to save the information to text.



Note: You can only export one record at a time.



1. Conduct your search, then click on the title of the item you wish to export.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Click the Export Citation button.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Under Export select Citation and Abstract. Under Select Citation Manager select RefWorks. Click the Export Citation button.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. You will be prompted to save a .ris file to your computer, so click the Save button.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the data source and the database.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Browse to find the file you saved to your computer.Click Import.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

SpringerLink (text only)

Note: You can only export one record at a time.



1. Conduct your search, then click on the title of the item you wish to export.

2. Click the Export Citation button.

3. Under Export select Citation and Abstract. Under Select Citation Manager select RefWorks. Click the Export Citation button.

4. You will be prompted to save a .ris file to your computer, so click the Save button.

5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

6. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the data source and the database.

7. Browse to find the file you saved to your computer.Click Import.

8. Your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Transportation and Information Research Services (TIRS Online)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Click Save.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. In the Format Options area, select RIS as your download option. Click the Download File button.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. You will be prompted to save a .ris file to your computer. Navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. Select RIS Format as the data source and the database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Transportation and Information Research Services (TIRS) (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.

2. Click Save.

3. In the Format Options area, select RIS as your download option. Click the Download File button.

4. You will be prompted to save a .ris file to your computer. Navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file.

5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

6. Select RIS Format as the data source and the database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

TRELLIS

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.








2. When you are ready to export these references scroll to the bottom of the results page and select the Export to RefWorks button.






3.The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



TRELLIS (text only)

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. When you are ready to export these references scroll to the bottom of the results page and select the Export to RefWorks button.

3.The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Web of Science

Export Directly

1. Conduct your search, and select the box next to each article you wish to export.





2. Select "Save to RefWorks" from the "Save to" drop down bar.





3. Select the type of content you wish to export.




4. Your references should export automatically, and you will be told when they are done.





5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions





Manually Import



1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks by clicking in the checkbox to the left of the citation and selecting Add to Marked List.





2. Click on the Marked List link when you are ready to export.





3. On the Marked Records page in the Step 1 area, select the fields you want to include in the export. In the Step 2 area you can add or remove content by clicking on the check boxes. By default Author(s)/Editor(s), Title, Source, Author Identifiers, Times Cited, and ISSN/ISBN will be checked.







4. In the Step 3 area, select the Other Reference Software from the drop down bar and click the Save to Other File Formats.







 5. In the window that appears, select Plain Text from the File Format drop down bar.

 

 





6. You will be prompted to save a text file to your computer. Click Save and choose an appropriate drive and file name. Click Save, then Close.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions




7. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Select Thompson Reuters as the data source and Web of Science as the database.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



9. Browse to find the file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Web of Science (text only)

Export Directly

1. Conduct your search, and select the box next to each article you wish to export.

2. Select "Save to RefWorks" from the "Save to" drop down bar.

3. Select the type of content you wish to export.

4. Your references should export automatically, and you will be told when they are done.

5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

Manually Import

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks by clicking in the checkbox to the left of the citation and selecting Add to Marked List.

2. Click on the Marked List link when you are ready to export.

3. On the Marked Records page in the Step 1 area, select the fields you want to include in the export. In the Step 2 area you can add or remove content  by clicking on the check boxes. By default Author(s)/Editor(s), Title, Source, Author Identifiers, Times Cited, and ISSN/ISBN will be checked.

4. In the Step 3 area, select the Other Reference Software from the drop down bar and click the Save to Other File Formats.

5. In the window that appears, select Plain Text from the File Format drop down bar.

6. You will be prompted to save a text file to your computer. Click Save and choose an appropriate drive and file name. Click Save, then Close.
7. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

8. Select Thompson Reuters as the data source and Web of Science as the database.

9. Browse to find the file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a   folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Wiley Online Library

Please note: The direct Export to RefWorks function in Wiley Online Library does not work for Canadian users. You will need to follow the manual import instructions below.

1. First, perform your search on Wiley Online Library. Use the checkboxes on the left-hand side to select the references you would like to export, then click Export Citation.

 

 

Selecting results for export

 

 

2. Select Reference Manager from the drop-down menu next to Format, then click Submit. You will be prompted to save an RIS file to your computer. Please remember where you save it.




export manager in Wiley






3. Log into your RefWorks account and go to References > Import. Select RIS Format as your Import Filter/Data Source, and Multiple Databases as your Database. Click Browse and locate the RIS file you saved to your computer in Step 2, then click Import.

 



 

 

Import reference mananger in RefWorks

 

 

Wiley Online Library (text only)

Please note: The direct Export to RefWorks function in Wiley Online Library does not work for Canadian users. You will need to follow the manual import instructions below.

1. First, perform your search on Wiley Online Library. Use the checkboxes on the left-hand side to select the references you would like to export, then click Export Citation.

2. Select Reference Manager from the drop-down menu next to Format, then click Submit. You will be prompted to save an RIS file to your computer. Please remember where you save it.

3. Log into your RefWorks account and go to References > Import. Select RIS Format as your Import Filter/Data Source, and Multiple Databases as your Database. Click Browse and locate the RIS file you saved to your computer in Step 2, then click Import.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Export Directly


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




Manually Save and Export


1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. From My Research, select Export Citations.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


5. Click Save and select Text as the Save As file type.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions




6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions


7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (text only)

Export Directly

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.

5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Manually Save and Export

1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.

2. You can choose to Export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.

3. From My Research, select Export Citations.

4. Select Export in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager, click Continue.

5. Click Save and select RIS as the Save As file type.

6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. Click Import.

8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top