Skip to main content

LIBRARY

RefWorks: Databases F - J

Gale


Databases included: LegalTrac; Academic One File; CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals); General One File; Computer Database; Expanded Academic Index; General Reference Centre Gold; Gale Virtual Reference Library; InfoTrac Communications and Media Ebooks; InfoTrac Diversity Studies E-Collection; InfoTrac: Psychology E-collection and E-books; Military and Intelligence Database; Religion and Philosophy Collection



1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Click on Marked Items. Click on Citation Tools in the Tools area.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. In the export to third party software, select RefWorks and click the Export button.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Click on RefWorks if a new window opens.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Gale (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.

2. Click on Marked Items. Click on Citation Tools in the Tools area.

3. In the export to third party software, select RefWorks and click the Export button.

4. Click on RefWorks if a new window opens.

5. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

General Science Full Text

For Direct Export



1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."



Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.



5. Click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. From the File menu select "Save As."



Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


Back To Top

General Science Full Text (text only)

For Direct Export

1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.

4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."

5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

 

To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".

4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."

Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.

5. Click "Save."

6. From the File menu select "Save As."

Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."

7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.

8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.

10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Germanistik Datenbank Online

NOTE: Direct export not currently supported


Manually Entering References:

1. Select the "New Reference" button, or, "Reference" and "Add New" from the top menu.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions


2. An "Add New Reference" window will pop up. You can select a citation style, which will refresh the window, presenting only the fields required for the selected style, or leave it as "None Selected." Once you have selected a style, an "About This Style" link will appear, which gives you notes and specifications on the style. It will not close the window.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions


3. Select the type of resource you are adding. Be as specific as possible. If the reference type is not available, choose the one that is the closest match.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

4. Populate as many fields as you can. RefWorks will automatically offer suggestions in some fields, such as authors you have previously cited or journal names. If there are other fields you would like to add, or need to add because the reference type is not exact, you can select those at the bottom. When you are done, click "Save Reference." You can edit your reference at any time. If you would like to immediately enter another reference manually, choose "Save & Add New" instead.


Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top


Germanistik Datenbank Online (text only)

NOTE: Direct export not currently supported


Manually Entering References:

1. Select the "New Reference" button, or, "Reference" and "Add New" from the top menu.

2. An "Add New Reference" window will pop up. You can select a citation style, which will refresh the window, presenting only the fields required for the selected style, or leave it as "None Selected." Once you have selected a style, an "About This Style" link will appear, which gives you notes and specifications on the style. It will not close the window.

3. Select the type of resource you are adding. Be as specific as possible. If the reference type is not available, choose the one that is the closest match.

4. Populate as many fields as you can. RefWorks will automatically offer suggestions in some fields, such as authors you have previously cited or journal names. If there are other fields you would like to add, or need to add because the reference type is not exact, you can select those at the bottom. When you are done, click "Save Reference." You can edit your reference at any time. If you would like to immediately enter another reference manually, choose "Save & Add New" instead.

Back To Top

Google Scholar


NOTE: If off-campus, Google Scholar must be accessed from the Research Databases page after first Connecting from Home. Accessing Google Scholar directly, without going through the Proxy, will not enable Refworks functionality.


For Direct Export

1. Before performing your search, select "Scholar Preferences" from the Options dropdown in the top right-hand corner.





2. Select RefWorks as your preferred import system (at the very bottom of the page).





3. Perform your search. An "Import into RefWorks" link should now appear next to each result. You must import references one at a time.





4. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions





To Manually Save and Export Records:



1. Before performing your search, select "Scholar Preferences" in the top right-hand menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Select "Reference Manager" as your default bibliography manager in order to save a text.



Note: If you have an ISI ResearchSoft product (Reference Manager, EndNote or ProCite) installed on your computer the following directions may not work.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Conduct your search in Google Scholar. Each record displayed will have an "Import into Reference Manager" link. Click on the link.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. You will be prompted to either Open or Save the file (which is already named and is a .ris file). Choose "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Select the location where you want to save the file, click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. Log in to RefWorks, select "References/Import" from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Select RIS Format as the data source and the database.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Browse to find the file you saved to your computer, click "Import."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



9. Your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Google Scholar (text only)

NOTE: If off-campus, Google Scholar must be accessed from the Research Databases page after first Connecting from Home. Accessing Google Scholar directly, without going through the Proxy, will not enable Refworks functionality.

For Direct Export

1. Before performing your search, select "Scholar Preferences" in the top right-hand menu.

2. Select RefWorks as your preferred import system (at the very bottom of the page).

3. Perform your search. An "Import into RefWorks" link should now appear next to each result. You must import references one at a time.

4. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

 

To Manually Save and Export Records:

1. Before performing your search, select "Scholar Preferences" in the top right-hand menu.

2. Select "Reference Manager" as your default bibliography manager in order to save a text.

Note: If you have an ISI ResearchSoft product (Reference Manager, EndNote or ProCite) installed on your computer the following directions may not work.

3. Conduct your search in Google Scholar. Each record displayed will have an "Import into Reference Manager" link. Click on the link.

4. You will be prompted to either Open or Save the file (which is already named and is a .ris file). Choose "Save."

5. Select the location where you want to save the file, click "Save."

6. Log in to RefWorks, select "References/Import" from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and the database.

8. Browse to find the file you saved to your computer, click "Import."

9. Your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)


1. Conduct your search, mark the records you want to export to RefWorks and click "Add to Marked List."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Click "View Marked List" at the top of the screen.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Click Download Records at the top of the list.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Click Export to RefWorks. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) (text only)

1. Conduct your search, mark the records you want to export to RefWorks and click "Add to Marked List."

2. Click "View Marked List" at the top of the screen.

3. Click Download Records at the top of the list.

4. Click Export to RefWorks. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Humanities Full Text

For Direct Export



1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."



Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.



5. Click "Save."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. From the File menu select "Save As."



Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions


Back To Top

Humanities Full Text (text only)

For Direct Export

1. Conduct your search, and click "Add to Folder" for each record you wish to export.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Within "Folder" select "Export" from the right hand column. You may export all of your folder, or select only certain references.

4. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click "Save."

5. RefWorks will open in a new tab. Your references will be in your "Last Imported" folder.

 

To Manually Save and Export Records


1. Conduct your search, click "Add to folder" for each of the results you want to save and export to RefWorks.

2. When you're done, click on "Folder" in the top menu.

3. Re-select the references to export, click on "Export".

4. Select "Generic bibliographic management software."

Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.

5. Click "Save."

6. From the File menu select "Save As."

Note: If you do not have menu bar, right click and select "Menu Bar."

7. Select the location where you want to save the file, the name you want and select Text as the type of file.

8. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

9. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.

10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

11. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

IEEE/Explore


1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Under Download Citations, choose citation & abstract, and RefWorks from the drop down menu. Click "Download Citation."



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

IEEE/Explore (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.

2. Under Download Citations, choose citation & abstract, and RefWorks from the drop down menu. Click "Download Citation."

3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back To Top

Ingenta


1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



2. Click on Update Marked List and then Marked List under Bookmarking Options.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



3. Click on Export Options and Plain Text.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



4. Using your Browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file. Select Text as the file type.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



6. Select Ingenta as the data source and the appropriate database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.



Screen shot demonstrating instructions



Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Back To Top

Ingenta (text only)

1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.

2. Click on Update Marked List and then Marked List under Bookmarking Options.

3. Click on Export Options and Plain Text.

4. Using your Browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file. Select Text as the file type.

5. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

6. Select Ingenta as the data source and the appropriate database. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.

Back To Top

JSTOR


Direct Export:

1. Perform your search on JSTOR. Use the checkboxes on the left-hand side to select the articles you would like to export, then click the Export link:

 

 

 

 

 

2. A new page will load. Click the RefWorks link. You will be prompted to log into your RefWorks account.





Manual Export:


1. Perform your search on JSTOR. Use the checkboxes on the left-hand side to select the articles you would like to export, then click the Export link






2. A new page will load. Click the Text file link.







3. In the new window select Save As on the file menu, and save as a text file.












4.Log into RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.





5. Select JSTOR as the datasource and JSTOR as the database. Browse the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.






Back To Top

JSTOR (text only)

Direct Export:

1. Perform your search on JSTOR. Use the checkboxes on the left-hand side to select the articles you would like to export, then click the Export link

2. A new page will load. Click the RefWorks link. You will be prompted to log into your RefWorks account.


Manual Export:


1. Perform your search on JSTOR. Use the checkboxes on the left-hand side to select the articles you would like to export, then click the Export link

2. A new page will load. Click the Text file link.

3. In the new window select Save As on the file menu, and save as a text file.

4.Log into RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

5. Select JSTOR as the datasource and JSTOR as the database. Browse the text file you saved to your computer. You can select a folder into which you would like to import your references. If you do not select a folder, your references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.

Back To Top