Skip to main content

LIBRARY

RefWorks: Working with Write N Cite III (PC)

Using Write-N-Cite

Once installed, a Write-N-Cite icon will appear in your Word toolbar. If it does not, you can still access and use Write-N-Cite by opening it from your Start Menu.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Once you have launched Write-N-Cite a log in screen will open; log in just like you do for RefWorks online. Once logged into to Write-N-Cite, you should see a list of all of your references, which can be sorted, searched, and viewed in this window.  Select "Always on Top" to keep this window floating over your document.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

Selecting "Cite" will insert a reference into the document. Don't worry that it looks a bit funny this is how Write-N-Cite reads citations, and it will automatically be formatted when you create your bibliography. To add extra information, such as a page number, click "Edit Citation" at the top right.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

Select an output style and fill in any necessary fields.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

When you're done writing your paper, select "Bibliography" from the menu, and choose an output style. If the style is not there, scroll to the bottom and select "Access Output Style Manager..." to view all of the output styles that RefWorks offers.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

Your document will automatically be formatted to conform to the selected output style, with the bibliography at the end.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

Write-N-Cite is pretty great but it's not magic. Always look over your bibliography to make sure all information has transferred properly. Some manual adjustments may be necessary. For instance, in this example all article titles are converted to lower case but "United States" should still be capitalized.  

Screen shot demonstrating instructions


Write-N-Cite Workaround 1

Using One Line Cite

If you're having problems inserting citations using Write-N-Cite but need the functionality, select the yellow brackets next to a reference in your RefWorks account.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

These yellow brackets appear next to each reference, but it might be easier to view your references by "One Line/Cite View," which condenses the reference information.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

A window will pop up with the citation formatted in a style that Write-N-Cite can read. To add another reference in the same in-text citation, click the yellow brackets icon next to the desired reference while the pop-up is still open. Copy and paste this formula into your document where you want the in-text citation to appear. You can also generate a bibliography from the references in this box. When you're ready to insert another in-text citation, make sure you hit the "Clear" button to clear the current citation information.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

Write-N-Cite Workaround 2

Using RefWorks to Generate a Bibliography

If you're having trouble generating a bibliography using Write N Cite within a document, you can make one from within your RefWorks account.

Select "Create" from the "Bibliography" menu.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions

 

Select the required output style and browse for the document to upload. Remember, this document must already have been formatted using Write-N-Cite.

Screen shot demonstrating instructions