Skip to main content

LIBRARY

Ebooks @ UWaterloo : Ebook Collections by Subject Area

Subject Specific Guides

To find books by subject area, check the guide in your area of interest.

Free Ebooks

Multidisciplinary

Association of Canadian University Presses (ACUP)

Access to the full output of the following participating Canadian University Presses from 2014 forward: Athabasca University Press, Institute of Social and Economic Research, Les Presses de l’Université du Québec, Les Presses de l’Université Laval, Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal, McGill Queens University Press, Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies, University of Alberta Press, University of British Columbia Press, University of Calgary Press, University of Manitoba Press, University of Ottawa Press, University of Regina Press (formerly known as Canadian Plains Research Centre Press), University of Toronto Press, Wilfrid Laurier University Press. Available on the Scholars Portal platform, select "Canadian University Presses" from the drop down menu.  

Usage Rights: 

Cambridge University Press 
Cambridge University Press titles published 1995 - 2011. On the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Also available on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform.

Usage Rights: Varies by title. Please contact the Copyright & Licensing Librarian

Canadian Electronic Library - Publishers Collection
Over 60 Canadian publishers. From the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Also available on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform.

Usage Rights:

Duke University Press
Scholarly titles in the Social Science & Humanities. From the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Alsoavailable on the HighWire Press platform.  

 Usage Rights:


HathiTrust Digital Library 
Provided through a collaboration of research libraries; Waterloo has access to the portion of the collection that is in the public domain. Items under copyright are available for limited view only (i.e. catalogue record and full text searching). Check a book's record for the access and use statement that applies to the book; Partnership (which we don't have) is required to download even the titles available in full view.

Oxford University Press  
A selection of Oxford University Press e-book titles. On the Scholars Portal platform, select Oxford University Press from the drop down menu. Also available on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform. 

Usage Rights: Varies by title. Please contact the Copyright & Licensing Librarian

Safari Tech
Access to a subset of this collection of more than 19,782 technology, digital media, and business books and videos.

Usage Rights:


Springer eBooks
Books and book series in all fields, including science, technology, medicine, available on the SpringerLink platform; also available on the Scholars Portal platform.

Usage Rights, Scholars Portal and SpringerLink:

Taylor & Francis Group
11,697 titles published between 1933 and 2008.

Usage Rights:


University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)
We have access to a subset of UPSO titles. When uploads are completed UPSO titles accessible to UWaterloo will include over 2,600 books from ten university presses.

Usage Rights:

Biology & Life Sciences

Bookshelf 
Provided by The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI); free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

Usage Rights: Usage rights vary by title. For information on how you can use these eBooks please consult the Bookshelf Copyright Notice



Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research Methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging.

Usage Rights:


JoVE
Journal of Visualized Experiements. Videos of simple and complex experimental techniques.

Usage Rights:

Life Sciences Colloquium
 

Published by Morgan and Claypool, this collection is divided into 5 series: Cell Biology of Medicine, Developmental Biology, Integrated Systems Physiology, Biotechnology, and the Developing Brain; covers all cell and molecular biology and bio-medicine, including the neurosciences. Also available on the the Scholars Portal platform -- select "Morgan & Claypool" from the drop down menu.

Usage Rights:

Methods in Enzymology
Experimental techniques in biochemistry. Each volume covers specific topic. Online since v. 407, 2006.

Usage Rights:

Business & Economics

Emerald Ebooks   

Business, Management & Economics and Social Sciences series.

Usage Rights:

OECD iLibrary  

Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; 20 Book collections by theme, containing all the OECD's monographs and reports.

Usage Rights:

Engineeering

Access Engineering 
Full text of many engineering books from McGraw-Hill.

Usage Rights: ACM Digital Library 

Association for Computing machinery, includes full text of computing literature. Note: not all titles listed are accessible to UWaterloo. 

Usage Rights:Varies by title. Please contact the Copyright & Licensing Librarian

ASCE Digital Library
American Society of Civil Engineers, includes conference proceedings from 2000.

Usage Rights:

ASME Digital Library  

Mechanical engineering; ASME Press eBooks selected from 1998 to the present. 

Usage Rights: CRCnetBASE ITECHnetBASE

This eBook collection contains authoritative resources for the study, design, development, implementation, support, or management of computer-based information systems.

Usage Rights: IEEE-Wiley Ebooks Library
Available in the IEEE Xplore digital library and Scholars Portal, 415 e-books span numerous content areas, including Bioengineering, Power & Energy and Communication technologies, etc.

Usage Rights for IEEE Xplore and Scholars Portal platforms:

Knovel 
Web-based application integrating technical information with analytical and search tools; science and engineering.

Usage Rights: Referex

Premium Referex engineering titles available on the Science Direct platform.

Usage Rights: SPIE eBooks

SPIE Press series in optics and photonics: SPIE Press Monographs; Tutorial Texts; Field Guides. 

Usage Rights: Synthesis Digital Library 

Engineering and computer science titles published by Morgan and Claypool. Also available on the the Scholars Portal platform -- select "Morgan & Claypool" from the drop down menu.

Usage Rights on Morgan and Claypool, and Scholars Portal platforms:

Humanities

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) 
HEB
includes more than 3,700 books and series in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. Approximately 500 titles added annually.

Usage Rights:

Brill Ebooks - Classical Studies 
24 titles published in 2010.

Usage Rights:

MITCogNet
Brain and cognitive science: artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education

Usage Rights:

Mathematics and Computer Science

CRCnetBASE COMPUTER-SCIENCEnetBASE
A hybrid of the bestselling engineering handbooks and critically acclaimed Chapman & Hall references, this Collection provides access the latest e-books in MATLAB, C ++, and Java.

Usage Rights:

CRCnetBASE ITECHnetBASE
This eBook collection contains authoritative resources for the study, design, development, implementation, support, or management of computer-based information systems.

Usage Rights:

Safari Tech 
Access to a subset of this collection of more than 19,782 technology, digital media, and business books and videos.

Usage Rights:

Synthesis Digital Library 
Engineering and computer science titles published by Morgan and Claypool. Also available on the the Scholars Portal platform -- select "Morgan & Claypool" from the drop down menu.

Usage Rights on Morgan and Claypool, and Scholars Portal platforms:

Medicine & Health

AccessPharmacy  

Online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. 
Usage Rights:

OVID Health Collection  

A collection of health related books published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Also available on the the Scholars Portal platform -- select "LWW" from the drop down menu.

Usage Rights on Ovid and Scholars Portal Platforms:

Springer Protocols 
Database of reproducible laboratory protocols in life and biomedical sciences from Humana’s book series; nearly 18,000 peer reviewed protocols. On the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu.

Usage Rights on Springer and Scholars Portal Platforms:

Physical Sciences

SPIE eBooks
SPIE Press series in optics and photonics: SPIE Press Monographs; Tutorial Texts; Field Guides.

Usage Rights:

Social & Behavioral Sciences

Canadian Electronic Library - Public Policy Collection 
Monographs from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, unversity research centres , etc. From the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Also available on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform.

Usage Rights on Scholars Portal and ProQuest Ebook Central platforms:
MITCogNet
Brain and cognitive science: artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education

Usage Rights:
PsycBOOKS
Books published by the American Psychological Association and classic books from other publishers; 2,000+ scholarly psychology e-books, 1950-present; updated monthly. Also available on the Scholars Portal platform -- select PsycBOOKS from the drop down menu.

Usage Rights: