Skip to main content

LIBRARY

Ebooks @ UWaterloo : Primary Texts

Newspaper Digitial Archives

See also the comprehensive News Sources Guide.

Paper of Record
Digital archive of selected community newspapers from across Canada. Varies by newspaper but most titles date from the early 1800s to mid 1900s.

Usage Rights:


Toronto Star: Pages of the Past
A digital archive of the Star from November 3, 1892. Search by date or by keyword for a span of five years.

Usage Rights:


Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844 (excluding the last 4 years)  
A digital archive from its beginnings as The Globe in June 1844. Search by date or by keyword for a span of five years.

Usage Rights:

Primary Texts in Multi-disciplinary Collections

Adam Matthew Digital
Digital content for the social sciences and humanities; 8 collections of rare printed sources; original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images.

Usage Rights:

Alexander Street Press
Online collections in the humanities and social sciences. Includes: American film scripts, Asian American drama, Black drama,British & Irish women's letters & diaries, Classical music online, Classical scores library, Early encounters in North America, Latin American Women Writers, Latino literature, North American immigrant letters, North American Theater Online, North American women's drama, North American women's letters & diaries, , Social theory, Theater in video, Twentieth century North American Drama, Women & social movements in the US.

Usage Rights:

Early Canadiana Online (ECO)
Primary sources in Canadian history from the first European contact to the early 20th century.

Usage Rights:

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Usage Rights:

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)  
Online collection of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800; 136,000 titles based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Usage Rights:

Literature Online (LION)
More than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 354 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Usage Rights:

Past Masters
Primary texts in Philosophy (Classical, Medieval Philosophy, Continental, British, American); English Letters; Women Writers; Religious Studies; Social Science and History of Science; Reference

Usage Rights:

French Primary Text Collections

German Primary Text Collection