What's in this Guide
- Keyword and citation SEARCH tips with short instructional videos.
- Relevant databases from ChemEng Subject Guide. (Tab links to this guide).
- FAQ - questions asked in the face to face workshops. I will add anything you like.
- How to read a journal article, writing and presenting help.
Contact me anytime. Anne Fullerton, ChemEng Libarian
KEYWORDS can make or break a SEARCH in any database. Here are some tips:
Say you are researching which frying oils make the best tasting potato chips.
Narrow / focus your search by combining 2-3 relevant keywords using AND
oils AND potato chips AND taste
DATABASE search with additional keywords: (sesame OR canola) AND “potato chip*“ AND (taste or flavour)
OR combines similar terms
The * gives you alternate word endings - chip, chips " " indicates a phrase. Words are searched together.
In Primo (BOOK, eBook search) a broader search can be better. e.g.
Nothing on potato chip production? Try search term Potato Chips. Or a broader term: Snack foods.
RELEVANCE sort your results (like Google Scholar). Library databases default sort is by date. Change it to relevance. Results at the top of the results list will match your search terms.
CITATIONS / Cited By Another way to locate relevant articles (Scopus, Google Scholar etc). more details
Review Articles save you time.
REVIEW ARTICLES – summarize relevant research on a topic. They are written by leaders in the research area and are published in journals or book series. e.g. Annual Reviews in…
Add the word Review to your search. You may need a broader search.
oils AND potato chips AND review
Get the Full Text Articles.
Links to full text articles which we own. Found in all databases (including Google Scholar). Now includes a link to RACER so you can order articles we don't own.