RS 320Studies in Islam
This is the "Reference Works" page of the "Religious Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religious Studies  

Last Updated: Jun 15, 2017 URL: http://subjectguides.uwaterloo.ca/religiousstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Works Print Page
  Search: 
 

Atlases

  • An Historical Atlas of Islam
    Porter Ref G1786 .S1 H57x 2002
  • New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
    Porter Ref G1201.E4 G3 2001
  • The Cultural Atlas of Islam  
      
    Porter Ref DS36.85.A39 1986

Dictionaries and Handbooks

  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    Access via Online Reference Shelf
  • Oxford Handbooks Online  
      
  • Abingdon Dictionary of Living Religions
    Porter Ref BL31.A24 1981
  • Classical Dictionary of Hindu Mythology and Religion, Geography, History and Literature  
      
    Porter Ref BL1105.D6x 1968
  • Dictionary of Asian Christianity
    Porter Ref BR1065.D52 2001
  • Dictionary of Contemporary Religion in the Western World  
      
    Porter Ref BL31 .D544 2002
  • Dictionary of the Old Testament
    Porter Ref BS1225.52 D53 2003
  • Dictionary of the Old Testament
    Porter Ref BS1205.55 .D53 2005
  • Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism: Its Mythology, Folklore, Philosophy, Literature, and History  
      
    Porter Ref BL1105.S77 1977
  • Nelson's Dictionary of Christianity: the authoritative resource on the Chrisian world
    Porter Ref BR95 .N34x 2005
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
    Porter Ref BR95.O8 1974
  • Oxford Handbook of Jewish studies
    Porter Ref BM70 .O95 2002
  • Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements
    Porter Ref BP603 .H36 2004
  • Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity
    Porter Ref BR145.2.O86 1990
  • Penguin Dictionary of Religions
    Porter Ref BL31.P38 1984
  • The Jewish Religion: A Companion
    Porter Ref BM50.J28 1995

Websites

      

    Biographical Sources

    • Lives of the Saints  
        
      Porter Ref BX4654.B8 1956
    • Who's Who in the Bible
      Porter Ref BS571.C54 1981
    • Who's Who in the New Testament  
        
      Porter Ref BS2430.B67 1971b
    • Wycliffe Biographical Dictionary of the Church
      Porter Ref BR1700.2.M66 1982

    Encyclopedias

    • Cambridge History of Islam  
        
      Porter Ref DS35.6.C3
    • Encyclopaedia Judaica
      Available online or in print
      Porter Ref DS102.8.E5x 1971-1972
    • Encyclopaedia of Islam  
        
      Porter Ref DS37.E523
    • Encyclopedia of African American Religions
      Porter Ref BR563.N4E53 1993
    • Encyclopedia of Buddhism
      Porter Ref BQ128 .E62 2003
    • Encyclopedia of Early Christianity  
        
      Porter Ref BR162.2.E53 1990
    • Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen  
        
      Porter Ref BL1005.L4813 1989
    • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
      Porter Ref BP40 .E525 2004
    • Encyclopedia of Millennialism and Millennial Movements
      Porter Ref BT891.E53 2000
    • Encyclopedia of Protestantism
      Porter Ref BX4811.3 .E54 2005
    • Encyclopedia of Protestantism  
        
      Porter Ref BX4811.3 .E53 2004
    • Encyclopedia of Religion
      Porter Ref BL31.E46 1987
    • Encyclopedia of Religion and Society  
        
      Porter Ref BL60.E53 1998
    • Encyclopedia of Religion in America  
        
      Renison Ref BL2520.E52 2010
    • Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
      Porter Ref BL31.E47 2004
    • Encyclopedia of the Early Church
      Porter Ref BR162.2.E57x 1992
    • GAMEO (Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online)  
        
    • Jewish Encyclopedia  
        
    • New Catholic Encyclopedia  
        
      Porter Ref BX841.N44 1967
    • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
      Porter Ref BR302.8.O93 1996
    • The Hindu World: An Encyclopedic Survey of Hinduism
      Porter Ref BL1105.W34
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip