Research guides: Company Information: Basic Information & Financials

Company Directories - Canada

Canadian Key Business Directory (Dun & Bradstreet)
Porter Quick Ref HF5071.C35x (latest edition only)
Provides directory information on Canada's top 2 percent of companies, both public and private. Listings available by company name, geographic location, and SIC code.
Guide to Canadian Manufacturers (Dun & Bradstreet)
Porter Ref HF3223 .G8x
Scott's Directories
Various sections are available. Search the Library catalogue for holdings and location information.
FP Survey, Predecessor & Defunct
Porter Reference Collection (Main Floor) HG4090 .F5x

Company Overviews

D&B Hoovers
Coverage: International public companies
This free version of Hoovers provides a brief company description, directory information, and a list of the company’s top competitors.

Mergent Online
Coverage: International public and private companies
Provides company profiles and up to 15 years of “as reported” financials. Although U.S.-focused, there is good coverage of international, including Canadian, companies. A screening feature is available to identify companies meeting specific criteria.
Mergent Online provides business and financial information on more than 10,000 public companies in the U.S. Profiles for each company include: business descriptions, EDGAR documents, fundamental data, key financial ratios, earnings estimates, stock information and current headline news. The latest financial information may be presented by business and geographic segments. Mergent Online also provides the ability to create custom reports for a company, as well as compare reports of multiple companies. Also includes country statistical data and maps.

Company Financials

Only public companies are required to file financial statements.

Most companies will have at least the current year's worth of financials available on their website.

Aggregator products include:

SEDAR
Provides the filings of companies that report to the Ontario Securities Commission, including annual reports, quarterly reports, prospectuses, and press releases. Coverage is from 1997.
CanCorp Documents Service
Porter Microform Area MFCL 3455 (Index available in Porter Controlled Access)
Provides the filings of companies that report to the Ontario Securities Commission, including annual reports, quarterly reports, prospectuses, and press releases. Coverage is 1983 to 1996. For current information (from 1997), please consult SEDAR.
Canadian Companies Annual Report Service
Porter Microform Area MFCL 2943
Provides annual financial statements and annual reports of federally incorporated companies which have over $15 million in assets or over $25 million in sales.
EDGAR (United States - SEC)
Provides the filings of companies that report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), including annual reports, 10-K’s, 10-Q’s, prospectuses, and press releases.
Compustat
Access available through WRDS. For faculty and graduate students use only. You will need to create a free account.