This is the "Reference Works" page of the "Studies in Islam" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Studies in Islam   Tags: islam muslims  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2017 URL: http://subjectguides.uwaterloo.ca/studiesinislam Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Works Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Sources

This page includes both print and online resources.  Some resources are specific to Studies in Islam; others are more comprehensive in the area of religious studies and include information on Islam.

Atlases

  • Atlas of the World's Religions  
      
    Renison REF G1046.E4 A7 1999
  • The Cultural Atlas of Islam  
      
    Porter REF DS36.85.A39 1986
  • An Historical Atlas of Islam
    Porter REF G1786 .S1 H57x 2002
  • New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
    Porter REF G1201.E4 G3 2001

Dictionaries and Handbooks

  • Abingdon Dictionary of Living Religions
    Porter REF BL31.A24 1981
  • Dictionary of Contemporary Religion in the Western World  
      
    Porter REF BL31 .D544 2002
  • Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements
    Porter REF BP603 .H36 2004
  • Oxford Handbooks Online  
      
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    Access via Online Reference Shelf
  • Penguin Dictionary of Religions
    Porter REF BL31.P38 1984
 

Online Dictionaries

Hans Wehr: A searchable, online version of the only dictionary serious students of the Arabic language need; you can search by typing in roots.

Lisaan Masry: A searchable (in both Arabic and English) dictionary of Egyptian Arabic.

Al Maany - Arabic-English, English-Arabic

Arabic Almanac - Arabic-English; enables you to search the Hans Wehr dictionary

Aratools - Arabic-English

WordReference - English-Arabic

Ectaco - English-Arabic

Fuzzy Arabic Dictionary - an Arabic-English dictionary allowing you to look up words without knowing their exact Arabic spelling

Albursq - Arabic to English Dictionary / English to Arabic Dictionary / Arabic Vocabulary

Ectaco English-Arabic Online Dictionary - Translates from English to Arabic and vise versa

Encyclopedias

  • Cambridge History of Islam  
      
    Porter REF DS35.6.C3
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam  
      
    Porter REF DS37.E523
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
    Porter REF BP40 .E525 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Religion
    Porter REF BL31.E46 1987
  • Encyclopedia of Religion and Society  
      
    Porter REF BL60.E53 1998
  • Encyclopedia of Religion in America  
      
    Renison REF BL2520.E52 2010
  • Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
    Porter REF BL31.E47 2004

Websites

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip