This is the "Home" page of the "Biology 130 Lab Report" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology 130 Lab Report  

This course guide will help you find scholarly resources to support your BIOL130 Lab Reports.
Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://subjectguides.uwaterloo.ca/content.php?pid=702895 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

1. How to use references

WriteOnline also has a great section on writing lab reports - for examples of how to reference in-text look at the section "Paraphrase Examples"

(the examples below are from a Sample Lab Report on Frog Jumping)

In-text Citations

Citing within a sentence

We hypothesized that the increased muscle mass shown in earlier studies (Hylaflex and Smith, 1988) would result in improved jumping distance.

Citing at the beginning of a sentence

The results presented here also have serious implications for the use of JCl- in frog jumping contests. Twainson (1990) expressed concern that the increased occurence of doping with this drug in frog jumping contests may have dire consequences for the sport.

The Reference List

Hylaflex, A and Smith R (1988)........

Twainson, F, (1990)............

Further Writing Sources for you: 

Pechenik, Jan A. 2013. A short guide to writing about Biology. Boston: Pearson. QH304 .P43 2013  Davis Library

WriteOnline Lab Report - Look at section on paraphrasing

Note on citing your Lab Manual: because there is no explicite instructions from APA on how to cite a lab manual you will have to use the most similar type of resource, which is a book, to use as a model for citing. Therefore, your reference should have the same structure as a book, no author.

     

    5. APA Citation Style for Lab Report Reference List

    APA Citation Guides are widely available:

    Online guide  (from RDC Library) 

    Online guide (from U. Wisconsin - Madison)

    Print available at our libraries "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association" (Call number: BF 76.7 .P83 2010)

     

    RefWorks can create APA References

    RefWorks Login link

     (clink image to login to RefWorks)

    RefWorks Guide  Explains all aspects of RefWorks

    Quick Tips:

    1) How to add references to your free RefWorks database

    Export References from Scopus (1 min)

    Add PubMed References   (2.5 min)

    2) How to create APA formatted bibliographies 

    Quick bibliography creation

     

    Off-campus access to resources

     

    2. Definitions and Principles of Lab Test

    Oxford Reference - dictionaries and encyclopedias

    Science Direct - ebooks and journal articles

    Knovel - e-books on Science and Engineering topics

    Library catalogue - search for text on biophysical chemistry, biochemical physics, etc.

     

    3. Find Journal Articles to Support Your Lab Report

    An excellent lab report uses current literature to compare your lab results and interpretations. This is done within the discussion section. Find examples of how the lab technique is currently applied bridges the gap between isolated lab techniques and real world uses.  

    How to search in research databases (1-2 min videos)

    1. Choosing Keywords         

    2. Searching in a Database 

    3. Revise the search for better results 


    Research Databases for Bio 130 Labs

    & how to use them

    Scopus        

    How to search Scopus video (2 min)   

    Scopus is a multisiciplinary database. It includes the PubMed index + more. 

    PubMed          

    How to Search PubMed video (1 min)   

    Specialized database (search engine) for biomedical and life sciences research.

       

      4. How to Quickly Scan for Relevant Articles

      Link to Full-Text articles using:

      Get it @ Waterloo  


      TIPS - Choosing and Reading Journal Articles  Video (1.5 min)

      The basic steps to follow:

      1. Sort your results list by Relevance.

      2. Scan/Read titles and abstracts in your results list to select articles
       
      3.  Read these parts of the article first:
      Introduction  - covers a Literature review; author’s proposal
      Discussion –  research data interpreted and compared to other research

       

      What are Journal Articles - Scholarly /Research/ Primary

      1. Research or primary articles report an author's NEW, never before published research results from experiments/field studies.

      2. Review articles gather, analyse and  summarize EXISTING, published relevant research articles on a specific topic.

      3. Peer-reviewed articles have been judged by an impartial panel of two or more experts in the field and accepted for publication based on the accuracy and importance of the work. 

      Librarian

      Profile Image
      Laura Bredahl
      Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
      Contact Info
      Witer Learning Resource Centre
      School of Optometry & Vision Science
      519 888 4567 x 38538
      Send Email
       

      Was this page helpful? Let me know.

      Tell me. laura.bredahl@uwaterloo.ca, Laura Bredahl, Biology Librarian



      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip