1. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies and more2. Find Books and Journals3. Find E-books
1. Article databases for English2. Subject based research tools3. Electronic Journals
1. English Literature and English, Rhetoric & Professional Writing3. Scholarly Societies4. Discussion Groups
This is the "Find Research Sources in Game Studies" page of the "Game Studies " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Game Studies  

Last Updated: Jun 15, 2017 URL: http://subjectguides.uwaterloo.ca/gamestudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Research Sources in Game Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Suggested databases for finding articles in Game Studies

  • Web of Science
    Multidisciplinary database covering literature in arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • Scopus
    Multidisciplinary database covering literature in arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Covers journals in communication, mass media and related fields.
  • ProQuest Databases
  • Academic OneFile
    Multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.

Reference Sources

  • Video Games Encyclopedia
    Online encyclopedia of information on the past, present and future video games. Here you can find 19688 titles for PC (personal computers) and the most important consoles of the last three generations: the eighth (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Wii U, PlayStation Vita, Nintendo 3DS), the seventh (PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Wii, PlayStation Portable, Nintendo DS), the sixth (PlayStation 2, Xbox, GameCube, GameBoy Advance) and top games for mobile platforms like iOS, Android or Windows Phone.
 

Are You Off Campus?

"Get access from anywhere" link.

 

A-Z List of Publications covering Game Studies

  • DiGRA Digital Library
    Published by Digital Games Research Association (DiGRA), DiGRA conference proceedings include peer-evaluated research papers that have been accepted for publication at DiGRA conferences.
  • Eludamos
    ELUDAMOS is an international, multi-disciplined, biannual e-journal that publishes peer-reviewed articles that theoretically and/or empirically deal with digital games in their manifold appearances and their sociocultural-historical contexts.
  • First Person Scholar
    First Person Scholar is an initiative of UW's Games Institute and IMMERSe. A middle-state publication, it offers weekly critical essays, commentaries, and book reviews on games.
  • Games and Culture
    Games and Culture (G&C) is a peer-reviewed, international journal that promotes innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within interactive media. Published quarterly.
    * Access through UW Library *
  • Game: The Italian Journal of Game Studies
    G|A|M|E is an English language journal dedicated to a comparative, critical and theoretical analysis of videogames.
  • Game Studies: The International Journal of Computer Game Research
    Game Studies is a non-profit, open-access, crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games research, web-published several times a year. The primary focus is aesthetic, cultural and communicative aspects of computer games.
  • International Journal of Gaming and Computer-Mediated Simulations
    Peer-reviewed, international journal devoted to the theoretical and empirical understanding of electronic games and computer-mediated simulations.
    * Access through UW Library *
  • Loading...
    Loading... publishes empirical, theoretical, and design-based research on the multifaceted, multimodal, interdisciplinary subject of digital games.
  • Simulation & Gaming
    S&G appraises academic and applied issues in the expanding fields of simulation; computer and internet mediated simulation, virtual reality, educational games, video games, industrial simulators, active and experiential learning, case studies, and related methodologies. Published bi-monthly.
    * Access through UW Library *
  • Transactions of the Digital Games Research Association (ToDIGRA)
    ToDIGRA is a quarterly, international, open access, refereed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to research on and practice in all aspects of games. It is sponsored by the Digital Games Research Association (DiGRA), the leading international professional society for academics and professionals seeking to advance the study and understanding of digital games.
  • Well Played Journal
    Well Played Journal is a forum for in-depth close readings of video games that parse out the various meanings to be found in the experience of playing a game. The goal of the journal is to continue developing and defining a literacy of games as well as a sense of their value as an experience.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip