Research guides: PLAN 625: eResearch Guide: Web of science

Web of science search example

Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.

Search example in Web of Science:

Notice the quotation marks that keeps the phrasing together when the search is executed, and the use of the AND operator. Although there are options to search in, such as topic, title, author, unless you have an exact citation to search try the topic search. The image below show the results of this search.

The results page shown below illustrates the Get it!@Waterloo link and the View Abstact link. The Get it!@Waterloo takes you to where you can find the full text access, and links to the library catalogue to find the print volumes, and an option to request the article through the Scholars Portal link.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!