Research guides: Pharmacy Co-Op Supervisors: Pharmacy Co-op Supervisors

Overview

School of Pharmacy Co-op Supervisors have access to specific electronic resources during the duration of their work with the University of Waterloo.

Please be aware that:

Sharing of your login information is prohibited
Commercial use of these resources is illegal
- Use of Access Pharmacy, CPS, Lexicomp, and UpToDate is for the teaching and research work of your Co-op Supervisor role and NOT for commercial purposes
- Violations of our license terms by anyone can result in the loss of access to that resource for the entire University community
- If you are unsure about how you can use a particular resource, contact the Pharmacy Librarian, Caitlin Carter, at c8carter@uwaterloo.ca

What is my Library Barcode/Have a question?

Your Library Barcode gives you off campus access to the above electronic resources

When off campus, anytime you attempt to access an online resource of the University of Waterloo Library, you will be prompted to enter your Library Barcode and last name
You will then be able to access the resources you are able to use
The University of Waterloo Library will email your Library Barcode to you in advance of your work with the University
Questions about your Library Account or Library Barcode should be directed to pharmacy.library@uwaterloo.ca
Questions about how to search any of the resources should be directed to the Pharmacy Librarian, Caitlin Carter at c8carter@uwaterloo.ca

Drug Information Databases

Courtesy of the University of Waterloo Library, Pharmacy Co-op Supervisors have access to:

CPS
Access the CPS, CTC, CTMA, CPMA, drug interactions via Lexi-Interact, and patient information. Produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA).
Lexicomp
Interactions, drug identification, intravenous compatibility, patient education, toxicology, and calculators.
Access Pharmacy
Pharmacotherapeutic textbooks, drug monographs, patient handouts, videos, study flashcards, NAPLEX review.
AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references. Tools include calculators, lab test information, and an integrated drug database.
UpToDate
An evidence-based point of care tool covering more than 9,500 topics in 21 specialties, and providing access to patient education, medical calculators, and over 5,200 drug monographs.
Note: You will be asked to authenticate yourself as a member of the University of Waterloo community using your last name and barcode.

Other Resources (mostly free)

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Provides access to 9,000+ high quality, open access (free), peer-reviewed journals.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences literature. There are 3.9 million free research articles in PubMed Central.
PubMed
Freely search PubMed's collection of 26 million research articles; you will need to purchase full-text copies of articles if free copies are not available.
The Cochrane Library
Freely search Cochrane's collection of trials and systematic reviews; you will need to purchase full-text copies of articles if free copies are not available. Luckily, many Cochrane systematic reviews are free to the public.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Epistemonikos
Database of systematic reviews and primary research studies.
Canadian Medical Association (CMA) Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines Database (CPGs)
Canada`s database of clinical practice guidelines. Search or browse by developer, condition, specialty, recently added, or title. All guidelines were produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel.

Free Drug Information Resources

Drug products:

Health Canada - Drug Product Database (DPD)
Product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. Includes human pharmaceutical and biological drugs, veterinary drugs, and disinfectant products, and ~15,000 products which companies have notified Health Canada as being marketed.
MedlinePlus Drugs
Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Targets non-professionals.
Drugs@FDA
Drugs approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Drugs.com
U.S. based free resource which contains A-Z drug facts, American drug manufacturer contact information, as well as a pill identifier, and drug interactions checker.

Natural health products:

Health Canada - Licensed Natural Health Products Database
Explores natural health products that have been issued a product licence by Health Canada. This means that Health Canada has assessed these products and has idenfitifed them as safe, effective and of high quality under their recommended conditions of use. Licensed natural health products have an eight digit Natural Product Number (NPN) or Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM) on the label.
MedlinePlus Herbs and Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions. Targets non-professionals.
About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products (Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center)
For the general public and healthcare practitioners; provides evidence-based information on various herbs and supplements.
Drugs and Supplements (Mayo Clinic)
Overviews of vitamins, herbs, supplements and their evidence, safety, and interactions.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Part of the National Institutes of Health, and is the U.S. Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. Provides an alphabetical listing of health topics and herbs.
Drugs and Supplements (Cleveland Clinic)

Lactation:

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
Peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Provides data on maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects, and alternative therapies.
MotherToBaby
Evidence-based info for consumers and healthcare professionals about medication use during pregnancy. Recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MotherToBaby is run by the non-profit Organization of Teratology Information Specialists (OTIS).

Compounding:

Adverse drug reactions:

MedEffect Canada & the Health Product InfoWatch Newsletter (formerly: Canadian Adverse Reaction Newsletter)
Provides factual information on serious or unexpected side effects or adverse reactions suspected of being associated with health products, such as prescription and non-prescription medications, natural health products, biologically derived products, and medical devices.
Health Canada Adverse Reaction Database

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!