Research guides: Knowledge Integration: Get started

About this guide

This guide will help students and faculty in the Department of Knowledge Integration navigate the library to meet their learning and research needs by:

linking to relevant databases to find articles
providing information about books, print and electronic
linking to additional resources and collections
showcasing tools that support academic goals and objectives

Find articles lists databases for specific topics, such as:

climate change
sustainability
blockchains
modelling
team cohesion
governance
societal change

A brief overview of databases on:

how to navigate
what databases contain
some of the functions and benefits

Find books has information on:

direct link to search the library catalogue
how can I get my books during COVID-19?
how can I find my books?
library catalogue search function
placing holds and recalls
not in the catalogue?
should we order a copy?
on-campus book return bins locations
new books
core texts for the discipline
eReference material
eBooks and eBook collections
questions? Contact me

More resources:

library guides
- essential
- subject specific
- topic specific
- for advanced library users
unique collections
- data; statistics
- films
- Geospatial Centre
- Special Collections & Archives (SC&A)
  - Digital library
  - Special Collections / Rare books
publications of selected centres and institutes
- Heritage Resources Centre
- Interdisciplinary Centre on Climate Change (IC3)
- Southwestern Ontario Research Data Centre (SWORDC)
- Water Institute
- Waterloo Institute for Complexity & Innovation (WICI)
- Waterloo Institute for Social Innovation (WISIR)
- Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy (WISE)

The Research toolkit provides an overview of the research process and tips to help with:

academic writing, essays and research papers
help with references, citing your work
bibliometric tools
more than technical skills, soft skills
time management tips
the research process
saving your search strategy
setting up alerts
publishing your work?
need funding?

Access

Access to the electronic resources requires your WatIAM credentials. Sign in to use the Library's Services and Resources when the system prompts you to enter your credentials. If, for any reason, you encounter any difficulties with gaining access, please contact me directly or library staff through our Ask us service to resolve the issue.

NEW and TRIAL DATABASES

Omni: your library catalogue

The library catalogue, Omni, is a dynamic platform that provides more functionality, more options, and additional academic library catalogues to browse and search for information. The redesign makes navigation more intuitive, detailed descriptions provide more context, all of which makes for a more rewarding experience. Searching in the advanced search option is recommended for optimal results.

Faculty and focus of research

Rob Gorbet

Interfaces. Physical interfaces, interfaces between disciplines, interfaces between people. Interface design; interactive artworks; human interaction in collaboration, teaching, and learning

John McLevey

Social network analysis, computational social science, natural language processing, political sociology and social movements, environmental social science, environmental governance, cognitive social science / cultural cognition

Katie Plaisance

Philosophy of science, philosophy of psychology, social epistemology, & interdisciplinary collaboration

Vanessa Schweizer

Collective decision-making. This includes many processes such as articulating aspirations and values, exercising foresight, confronting uncertainties and risks, and negotiating tradeoffs

Liaison Librarian

Need help?

You can email me with your question(s), or book a consultation. Email questions are answered within1-2 business days. Consultations can be booked up to a month in advance and could be up to an hour in length.