Using Import FiltersDatabases ADatabases B-DDatabases EDatabases F - JDatabases K - ODatabases PDatabases Q-ZRefShareRefGrab-ItRSS FeedsSearching CataloguesEntering References ManuallyMoving Citations from Word Processing Documents into RefWorksImporting Citations from other Citation Software
Working with FoldersDuplicate ReferencesEditing ReferencesAdding Attachments
Backup/Restore your Account
Bibliography on the FlyBibliography From a DocumentOne Line/Cite ViewModifying an Output StyleMoving Citations from Word Processing Documents into RefWorks
Working with Write N Cite 4 (PC)Working with Write N Cite 4 (MAC)Working with Write N Cite III (PC)Working with Write N Cite 2.5 (MAC)Workarounds and Tips
"Code 0" error messageClearing your cacheDuplicate Author Fields -Imported from PrimoEvent ID #123465798How to Get the Group CodeIE 9Import Aborted, Path Not FoundKaspersky Anti-virus software -Write-n-cite will not open“Length is null or not an object” message when using Write-n-citeMac and LION OSMac -Finding and deleting PLIST -Write-n-citePrimo CentralProject Muse and RefWorksProQuest errorsRefGrabit and Google BooksRefWorks 2.0 Clearing CacheRemoving Write N Cite 4 (MAC)Runtime error 53Word 2011 (Mac)Word Cannot Start the Converter mswrd632.wpcWord Write-N-Cite 3 for PC - Page Not FoundWNC4 is fully grayed out and you cannot log in
This is the "Home" page of the "RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks  

Last Updated: Apr 6, 2016 URL: http://subjectguides.uwaterloo.ca/refworks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

RefWorks videos available on YouTube

If you are new to RefWorks or would like to see some training videos, they are available from the link below.

 

RefWorks Migration Update

In early 2015 all University of Waterloo RefWorks accounts were migrated to another server.  Based on the migration, uWaterloo RefWorks users are/were required to redownload and install Write-n-cite.

Another impact was the requirement of unique login names.  This resulted in some uWaterloo accounts having their login name changed.  The new login name is the e-mail address that was on file when the original account was created.

If you are unable to access your account of have any questions about the migration, please feel free to send them to RefWorks@library.uwaterloo.ca

All the best,

Tim Ireland and Sandra Keys,     

Your University of Waterloo RefWorks co-administrators

519 888-4567 x35061 (Tim) or x32279 (Sandra)

 

RefWorks

Refworks logo

 

RefWorks is a web-based citation and bibliography tool that is available to uWaterloo students, faculty, staff and alumni.

This guide will walk you through all of the basic functionalities RefWorks offers, as well as some new features and troubleshooting tips.

With RefWorks, you can:

  • Organize and create a personal online database of references
  • Format references for bibliographies and papers in a wide variety (over 3,000) styles  (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)
  • Import references to your RefWorks account from a variety of databases using the Direct Export feature offered by many databases, or using Import Filters included in your RefWorks account
  • Incorporate RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly into RefWorks

Log-In to RefWorks now!

You will need to use the UWaterloo group code to sign up for a new account. You can find the group code here. Please note that you MUST be connected via proxy (i.e., "connect from home") in order to view this page showing the group code.

If you cannot access it, contact RefWorks@library.uwaterloo.ca

 

Setting Up a Refworks Account

Visit http://www.refworks.com/refworks2 and click "Sign up for a New Account."

You will need to use the UWaterloo group code to sign up for a new account. You can find the group code here. Please note that you MUST be connected via proxy (i.e., "connect from home") in order to view this page showing the group code. If you cannot access it, contact RefWorks@library.uwaterloo.ca

Fill in the required fields and submit your information. You will be able to access your account right away.

 

RefMobile

RefMobile logo

RefMobile gives users immediate access to the most commonly used RefWorks functions, including searching their entire RefWorks databases, viewing references by folders, adding and removing references from folders, creating new folders, and adding comments to Notes fields. Users can also efficiently import new references to their RefWorks account using the new SmartAdd feature.

Log in here.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tim Ireland and Sandra Keys, Your RefWorks co-administrators
Contact Info
RefWorks@library.uwaterloo.ca
Send Email
 

Upcoming RefWorks Seminars

Click here to enroll in upcoming RefWorks seminars, where you will get hands-on instruction for using RefWorks.

 

Acknowledgments

The administrators of this RefWorks Guide would like to thank the following for their contributions:

  • Scholars Portal for developing original content and making it available to uWaterloo
  • Jessica Ma for creating screen captures for import filters relevant to uWaterloo Refworks users
  • Ben Robinson for editing and adding content
  • Patrick Miller for updating and and adding content
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip