Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY

Primary source collection trials: Four databases under review

Explore four Gale Primary Source collections until February 26, 2021

Here's your chance to "test drive" these collections and provide feedback.


Sections on this page

Database descriptions and access

Here are the four databases (collections) we are reviewing until February 26, 2021.



From: Gale's Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Drawing of a police officer nabbing a suspect, circa 1850s
From: Gale's Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture

Result screen shows article on the Mackenzie pipeline. From Akwesasne Notes vol 7 (4), 1975.
From: Akwesasne Notes. Vol.7 (4). 1975, p. 21.


From: The Fourth World. Vol. 1 (1). 1971, p. 7.

Selection rationale

We picked these databases to review for a few reasons. They:
  • cover areas of diversity, equity, and inclusion, collection areas we are working to build
     
  • seem relevant to research areas in English, Gender and Social Justice, History, Indigenous Studies, Legal Studies, Sociology, Political Science, Recreation and Leisure Studies, and others
     
  • are "digital scholar" friendly, meaning they can be used with tools such as Ngram, sentiment analysis, and parts of speech analyser as part of source(s) analysis

Information on Library-run trials

Vendor database trials:
  • are a cost-free way for the Library to "test drive" content that is normally behind a paywall
  • are typically 1 month long
  • do not necessarily result in the Library obtaining them
Factors typically considered:
  • cost
  • whether researchers have expressed an interest in the content
  • whether the content helps fill collection gaps
  • whether the content supports current or emerging research methodologies
  • whether the content is accessible
Other trials we are running:

Your feedback

1. Vote for the database you would like the Library to look into further (anonymous poll)
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790–1920: 2 votes (10.53%)
Indigenous Peoples of North America: 8 votes (42.11%)
Women's Studies Archive: 6 votes (31.58%)
None of these: 1 votes (5.26%)
Late entry: Archives of Sexuality & Gender: 2 votes (10.53%)
Total Votes: 19
2. Email us by March 1, 2021