We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Introduction
Welcome to the library course page for Arts 130: "Crazy Talk" - 19th Century Hysteria to 21st Century Pop Culture. This page provides information on the Library and recommends some resources that may be of interest to explore during your research.
Library services
For updates on which library services are available, see the library COVID-19 updates page.
The Dana Porter Library and book stacks are currently open! You can check out books in person or place requests online through the Library's search tool/catalogue, Omni. You may pick up book requests in person at the Library, or request to have them mailed to you. Our books by mail service is free for students.
Omni: The Library's search tool
Omni is the name of our library catalogue and primary search tool. Use it to find books, e-books, journals, articles, and much more. It is an excellent starting point for your research.
Waterloo shares Omni with a consortium of 16 Ontario university libraries. As a UW student, you may borrow print books from all institutions without any restrictions. Within the record for a book, you will see which libraries own copies. To borrow a book from another university, log in and select "request."
Recommended research databases and news sources
What is a database?
Research databases are collections of information sources to which the Library subscribes. Databases can contain articles, book chapters, primary sources, and other document types. They usually have a mix of citations entries and full-text items.
Some databases are interdisciplinary (such as Scopus or Web of Science) while others are subject specific. The Library has over 400 databases in a wide range of subject areas. Choose a database based on your individual research needs.
How to find databases
To find databases, start at the library home page (lib.uwaterloo.ca). In the left-hand "quick links" menu, click "databases." Browse by title or subject area. Read the descriptions below each to find one that will work for you.
- ARTstorCollection of images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative art, design, and various forms of visual culture.
Coverage: prehistoric - present - History of Science Technology and MedicineJournal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and related historical fields. Coverage: 1975 - present (articles cover earlier time periods - e.g., hysteria in the 19th century). Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
- Journal of the American Medical Association - BackfilesCoverage back to 1883.
- PsycINFOArticles, dissertations and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Coverage: 1840 - present - American Periodicals Series OnlineA digital archive of general interest magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and other periodicals.
Coverage: 1740 - 1940 - Early Canadiana OnlineEarly Canadiana Online is now available through Canadiana Online.
Coverage: pre-confederation - 1920 - Women's Studies ArchiveFind primary sources relating to women’s activism. Featured are female-authored literature and women’s periodicals.
Coverage: 1800s - 2000
News databases
The Library subscribes to a number of news sources, which provide you with access to current as well as historical newspapers and magazines. Librarian, Ryan Ball, has provided an excellent overview of some historical news sources, which is available in a video this course's LEARN site. I highly recommend viewing this video! Below are links to key historical news sources, as well as links to the Library's news sources research guide and guide for Canadian primary sources.
- Globe and Mail, Canada's Heritage from 1844 [digital archive]Search news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1844 - 4 years ago
- Ontario Community Newspapers1800s - 1970s
Research guides
The following research guides will help to orient you to the above resources, as well as provide access to other resources to explore that are not highlighted here.