Research guides: News Sources: selected Newspapers by Title M-Z

selected European newspapers by title M-Z

Note: some titles listed here are no longer current. Check the coverage for each title.

Le Monde (Paris, France)

Factiva
Coverage: Dec 19, 1944 - present

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Nexis Uni
Coverage: Jan. 1, 1999 - present

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Also available in microfilm

Kept until microfilm received
MIC S66
(1970-2007)

Also available in print

Annex (off-site)
AP20.M6x
(1944-1953/ 1955-1960)

The Observer (London, England)

Factiva
Coverage: Jan. 4, 1981 - present

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Nexis Uni
Coverage: Oct. 7, 1990 - present

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Also available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area.
1st Floor
MIC S71
(Dec. 1791-1793/Mar. 1796-1954)

Pravda / Правда (Moscow, Russia)

Factiva
Coverage: Jan. 20, 1998 - Nov. 13, 1998; Dec 22, 2005 - one week ago

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Nexis Uni
Access to Pravda.rs [English]
Coverage: May 27, 2017 - present

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
PressReader
Coverage: Oct 2005 - on week ago

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Also available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor
MIC S29
(1921-1937, [1938], 1956-1991)

Sunday Times (London, England)

Also available in microfilm:

MIC S133
(1880-Dec. 2, 1978/ Nov. 12, 1979-present)

Le Temps (Paris, France)

Nexis Uni
Coverage: Jan. 1, 1998 - Sept 30, 2015

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Also available:

Gallica (Apr. 25, 1861- Dec 31, 1935)

(Index for years 1896-1900 ... Tables du Journal Le Temps
UW Porter. Main Floor
AI21.T375 1966)

The Times (London, England)

Times Digital Archive
Coverage: 1785 - 2014

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Nexis Uni
Coverage: Jul. 1, 1985 - present

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Also available in microfilm:

MIC S24
(1788-present)

Also available in print:

UW Porter. Sims Reading Room, 3rd floor

Most recent paper only.

TLS, Times Literary Supplement (London, England)

Also available in microfilm:

MIC S9
(1902-1978/ Nov.-Dec. 1979/1980-1985, 1987-present)