A-Z Databases

SAE Mobilus

Types:

Standards

An index to SAE standards, technical reports, journal articles, and magazine articles.
Coverage: index 1906 - present; full text latest 10 years

More Info
Waterloo subscribes to only the technical papers section. Only citations and abstracts are available for all other material.

SAGE Journals

Alumni Access

Access to scholarly journals in health sciences, social sciences and humanities, biomedical sciences, materials sciences, and engineering.
Coverage: varies

SAGE Research Methods

Find books, encyclopedia and dictionaries about research methods.
Coverage: varies

More Info
SAGE Research Methods provides a tool called Method Maps, which visualizes relationships among more than 700 unique methods terms, concepts and people. Method List can be used to compile selected books, book chapters and journal articles for later review or sharing with colleagues.

Note: Waterloo only gets the text (read: eBook/reference work) content from Sage Research Methods. Waterloo subscription to SAGE Research Methods doesn't include SAGE videos.

Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy

Types:

Primary Sources

Clinical reference on treatment of infectious diseases and
anti-infective drug information.

Coverage: current

Scholars GeoPortal

Get access to visualizing and downloading geospatial data, including land-based vector data, census geography, orthophotography, and more.
Coverage: Varies

More Info
Scholars GeoPortal is an Ontario Council of Univerity Libraries (OCUL) initiative that provides affiliated members with online access to visualizing and downloading geospatial data. It includes land-based vector data (water, cultural features, etc.), census geography, orthophotography, and more! Waterloo faculty and students may access most of the provincial and national level data currently available from Waterloo Library's Geospatial Centre through the portal. An easy to use platform for academic purposes only.

Scholars Portal Books

Full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas

Coverage:Varies

More Info
This online platform hosts multiple resources.

Note: Local saving restrictions: Saving in PDF format restricted to 15% of a work.

Scholars Portal Journals

A repository for scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline
Coverage: Varies

More Info
This online platform hosts multiple resources.

SciELO

Search open access journals on a wide variety of topics. Created to help meet the research needs of scholars in developing countries.

Coverage: 1935 - present

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database

An index with some full text covering all aspects of science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural and weird fiction. History, criticism, commentary, fan writings and some reviews are all included.
Coverage: 1878 - present

ScienceDirect

Articles and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Coverage: Varies

SciFinder-n

Provides chemical information including physical and chemical properties, reactions, and patents.
Coverage: 1907 to present

More Info
Note: Access is restricted to current faculty, students and staff of the University. Account registration must be done using your Waterloo email address.

Scitation (now known as AIP Publishing)

Full-text access to journals covering physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, materials science, mathematics and associated disciplines.
Coverage: 1975 - present

More Info
Provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Civil Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers International, International Society for Optical Engineering, and other science and engineering societies. Covers physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, materials science, mathematics and associated disciplines.

Scopus

Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Digital Copy Permitted

Electronic Link Permitted

eReserves Permitted Not Applicable

ILL e-copy Not Applicable

ILL Permitted Not Applicable

LEARN Use Permitted Not Applicable

Perpetual Access Right No

Print copy Permitted

Scholarly sharing Not Applicable

Text and Data Mining Permitted Ask

SIAM e-books

These books are published by the Society of Industrial and
Applied Mathematics. They have more than 500 titles covering applied
mathematics, computational science and data science communities.
Coverage: varies

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives

Types:

Primary Sources

Video and Images

Find diaries, letters, biographies, oral histories, government documents, videos, and periodicals, and more originating from the United States, Canada, and Europe. Scholarly commentary also included.
Coverage: 1960-1974

Slave Voyages: the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Databases

Types:

Primary Sources

Search details of over 35,000 voyages involving the forcible transport of some 12 million Africans to the Americas. Find data and analysis on the trans-Atlantic and intra-American enslavement including an African name registry, interactive maps, timelines, and images.
Coverage: 1514 - 1866

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007

Alumni Access

Types:

Primary Sources

Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images relating to enslavement.
Coverage: 1490 - 2007

Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation and Freedom: Primary Sources

Types:

Primary Sources

This collection focuses on African American life and history in the United States and the Caribbean. It includes documents created by Black people, slave
trade correspondence, and government publications. From Houghton Library, Harvard University.
Coverage: 1780 - 1910s

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Full text scholarly articles in all areas of the social sciences.
Coverage: varies

Social Services Abstracts

Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews in the fields of social work and human services/community development.
Coverage: 1980 - present

Social Theory

Types:

Primary Sources

Collection of the original works of major social thinkers and to texts representing key trends in sociology.
Coverage: 1787 - 2002

Sociological Abstracts

Articles, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.
Coverage: 1952 - present

Sociology collection

Index and full text databases covering sociology and social services.
Coverage: 1952 - present

SPIE Digital Library

Articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations in optics, photonics, imaging, lasers, sensing, and nanotechnology.
Coverage: 1990 - present

More Info
The SPIE Digital Library provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals, Conference Proceedings, and books.

SPORTDiscus

Articles, dissertations and books on sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, and nutrition.
Coverage: 1830 to present

More Info
Produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus provides citations, with selected abstracts, to the world's literature in sport and fitness including sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography, physical fitness and recreation.
Note: Access A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.

Springer Nature Experiments

Life and biomedical sciences laboratory protocols.
Coverage: Current

More Info
Springer Protocols contains peer-reviewed protocols grouped into 15 subject collections: biochemistry, biotechnology, cell biology, imaging radiology, infectious diseases, molecular medicine, pharmacology/toxicology, bioinformatics, cancer research, genetics/genomics, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, and plant science.

SpringerLink - eBooks

Ebooks, and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, humanities, business, and education.
Coverage: To current

SpringerLink - eJournals

Articles on the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, humanities, business, and education.

Coverage: to current

SpringerMaterials

Covers multiple material classes, property types, and applications for identifying material properties.
Coverage: Current

More Info
The collections included in SpringerMaterials are: Landolt-Bornstein, Inorganic Solid Phases, MSI Eureka, Polymer Thermodynamics, Substance Profile, Thermophysical Properties.

Statista

Types:

Data and Statistics

Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa

Types:

Primary Sources

Materials relating to colonial rule, Black resistance, and attempts by international networks to fight racism from afar. Focus is on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
Coverage: 1940s - 2010s

More Info
Included are pamphlets created by the Liberation Support Movement (LSM) 1969-1981 based out of the west coast of Canada and the United States.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum

Types:

Primary Sources

Bibliography on aspects of Greek epigraphy, as well as summaries of Greek inscriptions.
Coverage: varies

Synthesis Digital Library

Currently published by Springer Nature, was Morgan & Claypool until 2022.

Find electronic documents (lectures) for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science.
Coverage: varies

A-Z Databases

33 Databases

S

New / Trial Databases

Helpful Links