We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
- Primary Sources
113 Databases Found for:Primary Sources
All Databases
A
Types:
Primary Sources
Search anti-enslavery newspapers published in Windsor (Sandwich), Chatham, and Toronto, Ontario (Canada West) by Black abolitionists.
Coverage: 1851 - 1876
Coverage: 1851 - 1876
Types:
Primary Sources
Black South African Magazines is the first and only digital collection of magazines created for Black audiences in Africa from 1937 to 1973. Find over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written for Black African audiences. Coverage includes Drum, Zonk!, The Townships Housewife, Hi-Note, and others.
Coverage: 1937-1973
Coverage: 1937-1973
Types:
Primary Sources
Africa Commons: History and Culture is a comprehensive database for searching and discovering African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.
Types:
Primary Sources
This database includes FBI files related to the surveillance of the American Indian Movement (AIM), a social protest group originating in Minnesota and expanding outside of Minnesota.
Coverage: 1969-1979
Coverage: 1969-1979
More Info
The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of
social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee
standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist
Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions,
and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of
social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee
standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist
Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions,
and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
Types:
Primary Sources
A digital archive of general interest magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and other periodicals.
Coverage: 1740 - 1940
Coverage: 1740 - 1940
Types:
Primary Sources
Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering racial justice in the United States and US race relations with Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Types:
Primary Sources
English translations of news broadcasts and publications on the reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world.
Coverage: 1946 - 1996
Coverage: 1946 - 1996
Types:
Primary Sources
Research sexual and gender norms, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, social movements, and more. Includes newsletters, government documents, posters, and pamphlets.
Coverage: 1600s - present
Coverage: 1600s - present
More Info
We have access to these four collections within this archive:
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
We have access to these four collections within this archive:
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
Types:
Primary Sources
Search discrete, topic-based collections focusing on civil and labour rights movements in the United States (USA).
Coverage:1950s - 1970s
Coverage:1950s - 1970s
More Info
UWaterloo Library has access to four collections: Fannie Lou Hamer; Quest for Labor Equality; Ralph J Bunch Oral Histories Collection on Civil Rights Movement; and We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death.
UWaterloo Library has access to four collections: Fannie Lou Hamer; Quest for Labor Equality; Ralph J Bunch Oral Histories Collection on Civil Rights Movement; and We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death.
Types:
Primary Sources
French literary texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Coverage: 13th century- present
Coverage: 13th century- present
More Info
These texts were originally used in France to aid in the preparation of a French dictionary, the Trésor de la langue française and made available through the University of Chicago. The 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries are equally represented. There is a smaller selection of 17th century, Medieval, and Renaissance texts. This collection lends itself to textual and etymological analysis as well as literary and cultural studies. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
These texts were originally used in France to aid in the preparation of a French dictionary, the Trésor de la langue française and made available through the University of Chicago. The 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries are equally represented. There is a smaller selection of 17th century, Medieval, and Renaissance texts. This collection lends itself to textual and etymological analysis as well as literary and cultural studies. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
Types:
Primary Sources
Video and Images
Collection of images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative art, design, and various forms of visual culture. Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now on JSTOR.
Coverage: prehistoric - present
Coverage: prehistoric - present
More Info
ARTstor's software tools allow the viewing and analyzing of images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering both online and offline presentations.
ARTstor's software tools allow the viewing and analyzing of images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering both online and offline presentations.
Asian American Drama
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Full-text of plays (some not previously published). Database includes biographical, production, and theatrical information.
Coverage: 1891 - present
More Info
Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
B
Black Drama
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Full text of plays by writers from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Coverage: 1850 - present
More Info
Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Types:
Primary Sources
Contains historical and current material and analysis relating to African-Americans, Africans, and the wider African Diaspora.
Coverage: 1800s - present
Coverage: 1800s - present
More Info
Included are: *Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience in-depth essays examine interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas.
*International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
*The Chicago Defender the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
*ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies dissertations and Masters' theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to Black Studies. Included are dissertations written between 1970 and 2004 at over 100 universities and colleges across the United States.
*Black Literature Index fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Included are: *Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience in-depth essays examine interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas.
*International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
*The Chicago Defender the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
*ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies dissertations and Masters' theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to Black Studies. Included are dissertations written between 1970 and 2004 at over 100 universities and colleges across the United States.
*Black Literature Index fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Black Thought and Culture
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Non-fiction works by leading African-Americans. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, letters and interviews.
Coverage: 1700s - present
Types:
Primary Sources
Find correspondence, speeches, event programs, oral histories, photos, and more relating to Black women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism.
Coverage: 1850s - 1960s
Coverage: 1850s - 1960s
More Info
Geographic focus: mainly United States but also Canada, Mexico, Caribbean and
Africa. This collection is part of the DPLA (Digital Public Library of America).
Geographic focus: mainly United States but also Canada, Mexico, Caribbean and
Africa. This collection is part of the DPLA (Digital Public Library of America).
Types:
Primary Sources
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background to more than thirty key worldwide border areas. The fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues are covered such as the migrant crisis, refugee camps, human trafficking, women and children migrants and much more.
Coverage: 1800 to 2020
Coverage: 1800 to 2020
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Full text of works from of over 400 women. Coverage also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.
Coverage: 1500 - 1950
Types:
Primary Sources
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters, diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works.
Coverage: 1150 - 1900
Coverage: 1150 - 1900
Types:
Primary Sources
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney. Represents the largest collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
Coverage: 17th and 18th Century
Coverage: 17th and 18th Century
More Info
The collection contains 700+ bound volumes of newspaper and news pamphlets that were published mostly in London. The collection also includes English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, the American colonies, Europe and India.
The collection contains 700+ bound volumes of newspaper and news pamphlets that were published mostly in London. The collection also includes English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, the American colonies, Europe and India.
C
Types:
Primary Sources
Description: Provides annotated modernized texts and ancillary material
(essays and archives, performance history, music scores, etc.).
(essays and archives, performance history, music scores, etc.).
Types:
Primary Sources
The Senate and House of Commons Debates, commonly known as "Hansard", contain the transcribed, edited, and corrected record of full deliberations of both Houses of Parliament.
Coverage: From Parliament 1, Session 1, 1867 until coverage on www.parl.ca begins
Coverage: From Parliament 1, Session 1, 1867 until coverage on www.parl.ca begins
Canadiana
Alumni Access Open Access
Alumni Access Open Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Find documents from 1st European contact to recent student activism, including items relating to Indigenous-settler relations, cookbooks, women's writings, and more.
Coverage: Pre-1970
Types:
Primary Sources
A free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas
Coverage: currrent
Coverage: currrent
Types:
Primary Sources
Search this African American, Caribbean, and African focused paper for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1909 - 1975
Coverage: 1909 - 1975
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
English-language materials on China and the West. Includes written documents, paintings, drawings and maps.
Coverage: 1793 - 1980
Types:
Data and Statistics
Primary Sources
Video and Images
Combines climate science, mapping, and storytelling together with Indigenous Knowledges and community-based research and video.
Types:
Primary Sources
Documents of the association linked to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts. Search minutes, correspondence, reports, and candidates' books.
Coverage: 1861 - 1967
Coverage: 1861 - 1967
More Info
Geographic coverage includes: India, China, Japan, Madagascar, Borneo, Burma
(Myanmar), Ceylon (Sri Lanka), Korea.
Geographic coverage includes: India, China, Japan, Madagascar, Borneo, Burma
(Myanmar), Ceylon (Sri Lanka), Korea.
Types:
Primary Sources
Covers law, criminology, popular culture, phrenology, fiction, and more.
Coverage: 1790 – 1920
Coverage: 1790 – 1920
More Info
Contains books, broadsheets, manuscripts, and periodicals. Also included are court transcripts, prison records, petitions, and police advertisements. Documents are from Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes.
Contains books, broadsheets, manuscripts, and periodicals. Also included are court transcripts, prison records, petitions, and police advertisements. Documents are from Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes.
Types:
News Sources: current
Primary Sources
Video and Images
Videos and sound recordings of selected documentaries produced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC / Radio-Canada). Find a selection of English and French language television and radio programs, and news reports.
Coverage: 1945 - present
Coverage: 1945 - present
Types:
Primary Sources
English-language summaries of selected Soviet and Russian press materials.
Coverage: 1949 - 2010
Coverage: 1949 - 2010
D
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
British and European primary source material. Themes include: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.
Coverage: 1450 - 1910
Types:
Primary Sources
Contains materials relating to the socio-political history of South Africa's struggle for freedom with emphasis on the Apartheid period. Find correspondence, interviews, photos, periodical literature and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present
Coverage: 1950s - present
Types:
Primary Sources
Create visualizations with this text analysis package. Use primary source texts to create data sets, then apply DSL tools such as Ngram, sentiment analysis, the parts of speech analyser, and others to conduct distant reading of those sets.
Coverage: n.a.
Coverage: n.a.
E
Types:
Primary Sources
Early Canadiana Online is now available through Canadiana Online.
Coverage: pre-confederation - 1920
Coverage: pre-confederation - 1920
More Info
This is a continuation of CIHM's (Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions) project to provide access to early Canadian publications.
This is a continuation of CIHM's (Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions) project to provide access to early Canadian publications.
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Diaries, letters, and memoirs documenting the relationships among peoples and with the environment.
Coverage: 1534 - 1860
Types:
Primary Sources
Facsimiles of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere.
Coverage: 1475 - 1700
Coverage: 1475 - 1700
More Info
EEBO contains images of works by such authors as Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. The database also includes musical exercises by Henry Purcell, novels by Aphra Behn, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources.
EEBO contains images of works by such authors as Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. The database also includes musical exercises by Henry Purcell, novels by Aphra Behn, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources.
Types:
Primary Sources
Find standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books.
Coverage: 1473 - 1700
Coverage: 1473 - 1700
Types:
Primary Sources
The European Space Agency (ESA), Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), and National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) have produced the Earth Observing Dashboard. Based on accurate remote sensing observations, it provides information on 7 themes: Atmosphere, Oceans, Biomass, Cryosphere, Agriculture, Covid-19 and Economy.
Coverage: 2018/2019-
Coverage: 2018/2019-
Types:
Primary Sources
Periodical and newspaper indexes from the 12th Century to the early 20th Century. Former title: 19th Century Masterfile.
Coverage: 1100s - 1930s
Coverage: 1100s - 1930s
Types:
Primary Sources
English and other language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the United Kingdom and the Americas.
Coverage: 1701 - 1820
Coverage: 1701 - 1820
More Info
Included are significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, numerous 18th century editions of the works of Shakespeare, and multiple editions of other works of literature.
Included are significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, numerous 18th century editions of the works of Shakespeare, and multiple editions of other works of literature.
Types:
Primary Sources
Collection covers all aspects of 18th century social, political and literary life.
Coverage: 1685 - 1815
Coverage: 1685 - 1815
Types:
Primary Sources
Letters from and to Wolfgang Capito.
Coverage: 1507 - 1541
Coverage: 1507 - 1541
More Info
The Correspondence of Wolfgang Capito. Volume 1:1507-1523 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2005). The second volume, covers the years 1524-1531.
The Correspondence of Wolfgang Capito. Volume 1:1507-1523 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2005). The second volume, covers the years 1524-1531.
Types:
Primary Sources
Access journals articles, case studies, and eBooks covering topics in Accounting, Business, Criminology, Economics, Education, Engineering, Health, Management, Marketing, Social Science, Tourism, and more!
Coverage: varies
Coverage: varies
Empire Online
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Collections of primary source material and scholarly literature relating to empires around the world.
Coverage: 1492 - 1962
Types:
Data and Statistics
Primary Sources
Find primary sources relating to individuals from around the world involved in the slave trade - including enslaved people, enslavers, and slave traders. Explore stories, biographies, documents, and data visualizations that are presented and centered in ways that honour enslaved persons.
Coverage: 1500s - 1880s
Coverage: 1500s - 1880s
F
Types:
News Sources: current
Primary Sources
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
More Info
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Film Scripts Online
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Film scripts of screenwriters, producers, directors from selected American feature films from 1903 on.
Coverage: Early 20th century - present
Types:
Primary Sources
English translations and digests of news from around the world.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Types:
Primary Sources
Themes include Indigenous peoples, land & property, business, religion, and women's history. Find both primary sources and commentaries relating to the migration of Europeans to Africa, Australasia, and North America.
Coverage: 1650 - 1920
Coverage: 1650 - 1920
G
Types:
News Sources: current
Primary Sources
Access over 2500 news sources via Gale; mostly from the United States but also Canada, the UK, Australia, and other parts of the world.
Coverage: 1950s - present
Coverage: 1950s - present
Types:
Primary Sources
Search across UWaterloo Library-owned collections from Gale, including Eighteenth Century Collections (ECCO), American Historical Periodicals, The Times, The Economist, Burney Newspapers, The Listener, and various subcollections in Archives Unbound.
Coverage: Varies
Coverage: Varies
More Info
Archives Unbound subcollections include:
Fannie Lou Hamer, Quest for Labor Equality, Ralph J Bunch Oral Histories Collection on Civil Rights Movement, and We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death.
Archives Unbound subcollections include:
Fannie Lou Hamer, Quest for Labor Equality, Ralph J Bunch Oral Histories Collection on Civil Rights Movement, and We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death.
Types:
Primary Sources
GeoScienceWorld provides access to several journals and eBooks in the subjects of Earth and Environmental Sciences and Geology.
Coverage: Current
Coverage: Current
Types:
Primary Sources
Global Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to some 5 million reports from over 25,000 organizations. Global Think Thanks supports the following disciplines: public and government
policy, environment and climate change, human rights, social justice, public
health, sustainability, diversity, and much more.
Coverage: varies
policy, environment and climate change, human rights, social justice, public
health, sustainability, diversity, and much more.
Coverage: varies
Types:
Primary Sources
Search news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1844 - 4 years ago
Coverage: 1844 - 4 years ago
Types:
Primary Sources
This series contains collections of annual reports, Government Gazettes, and Blue Books of statistics. Also find the papers of Anti-Apartheid journalist, Colin Legum.
Coverage: 1808 - 1995
Coverage: 1808 - 1995
More Info
Collections include:
* Colonial Africa in Official Statistics, 1821-1535
* Colonial Law in Africa, 1808-1919; 1920-1945; 1946-1966
* Gambia Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1881-1966
* Ghana and Togo Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1843-1957
* Kenya Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports 1907-1964
* Malawi under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1967
* Nigeria and Cameroon Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports 1887-1962
* Sierra Leone under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1893-1961
* Uganda under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1903-1961
* Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1897-1980
* South Africa under Apartheid, reports and research by a journalist,
1949-1995
* Apartheid Through the Eyes of South African Political Parties, 1948-1994
Collections include:
* Colonial Africa in Official Statistics, 1821-1535
* Colonial Law in Africa, 1808-1919; 1920-1945; 1946-1966
* Gambia Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1881-1966
* Ghana and Togo Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1843-1957
* Kenya Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports 1907-1964
* Malawi under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1967
* Nigeria and Cameroon Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports 1887-1962
* Sierra Leone under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1893-1961
* Uganda under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1903-1961
* Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1897-1980
* South Africa under Apartheid, reports and research by a journalist,
1949-1995
* Apartheid Through the Eyes of South African Political Parties, 1948-1994
Types:
Primary Sources
French and francophone literature from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Coverage: Middle ages - 20th century
Coverage: Middle ages - 20th century
More Info
The Great Corpus of French and Francophone Literature, is produced by Classiques Garnier Numérique with the support of the National Centre for Distance Teaching (CNED), the French Ministry of Education and the Intergovernmental Agency for Francophone culture. The Corpus offers 4 online collections of literature: The Corpus offers 4 online collections of literature:
•Corpus of medieval literature from the origins to the end of the 15th century
•Corpus of narrative literature, from the Middle Ages to the 20th century
•Corpus of Francophone literature from Black Africa, from the origins to Independence
•Corpus of literature from the Indian Ocean, from the origins to Independence
The Great Corpus of French and Francophone Literature, is produced by Classiques Garnier Numérique with the support of the National Centre for Distance Teaching (CNED), the French Ministry of Education and the Intergovernmental Agency for Francophone culture. The Corpus offers 4 online collections of literature: The Corpus offers 4 online collections of literature:
•Corpus of medieval literature from the origins to the end of the 15th century
•Corpus of narrative literature, from the Middle Ages to the 20th century
•Corpus of Francophone literature from Black Africa, from the origins to Independence
•Corpus of literature from the Indian Ocean, from the origins to Independence
H
Types:
Primary Sources
Access millions of titles digitized from academic, research library, and other collections from around the world. These are full text works that are in the public domain and licensed under Creative Commons. They are available for viewing and downloading.
Coverage: varies
Coverage: varies
Types:
Primary Sources
Primary sources from Canada's peoples from the 1600s to the mid-1900s. Includes genealogy, Indigenous, government, and military records.
Coverage: Pre-1960s
Coverage: Pre-1960s
Types:
Primary Sources
Presents monographs (books), manuscripts, and ephemera that provide a historical view of disabilities from the seventeenth to twentieth century.
Coverage: 1648-2000
Coverage: 1648-2000
I
Types:
Primary Sources
English-language and English translations of radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, books, and United States government documents relating to immigration.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Open Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Periodicals by feminists, student radicals, Indigenous peoples, anti-war activists, Black rights advocates, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+) activists, extreme right-wing press, and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present
Types:
Primary Sources
A collection of papers from Indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.
Coverage: 1828 - 2016
Coverage: 1828 - 2016
Types:
Primary Sources
Facilitates the study of invasion and colonization. Find materials relating to customs, dance, music, warfare, peace treaties, removal grants, legends, and myths.
Coverage: 1600s - 2000s
Coverage: 1600s - 2000s
More Info
Search manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, images of artwork, and more. Included are "Iroquois Indians: a documentary history of the diplomacy of the Six Nations and their league" and the Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
Search manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, images of artwork, and more. Included are "Iroquois Indians: a documentary history of the diplomacy of the Six Nations and their league" and the Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
Types:
Primary Sources
The Indian Rights Association was a non-governmental
organization created by White philanthropists to support American Indians.
Influenced by the paternal and assimilationist views of the time, the Indian
Rights Association exemplifies the troubling history and the transformation
over time of White-Indian alliances over the course of the twentieth century.
Coverage: 1882-1986
organization created by White philanthropists to support American Indians.
Influenced by the paternal and assimilationist views of the time, the Indian
Rights Association exemplifies the troubling history and the transformation
over time of White-Indian alliances over the course of the twentieth century.
Coverage: 1882-1986
Iportal: Indigenous Studies Portal
Open Access
Open Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Articles, theses, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. Focusing on Indigenous peoples in Canada and the United States.
Coverage: varies
Types:
Primary Sources
A list of previously uncatalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts.
Coverage: to 1992
Coverage: to 1992
L
Types:
Primary Sources
Fiction, poetry, essays about the feminist movement, and other works by women writers from Latin America, from Colonial period to the present day.
Coverage: 18th century - present
Coverage: 18th century - present
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Fiction, poetry and plays written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Coverage: late 19th century - present
Types:
Primary Sources
Includes the texts from the classical period and an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature.
Coverage: Antiquity - 1962
Coverage: Antiquity - 1962
Types:
Primary Sources
Covers a wide variety of genres including chronicles, medieval saints' lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period.
Coverage: Antiquity - 1962
Coverage: Antiquity - 1962
Types:
Primary Sources
Over 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts, with an interface allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Coverage:Varies
Coverage:Varies
More Info
Virtual library of key Greek and Latin texts with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations,including: epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available.
Virtual library of key Greek and Latin texts with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations,including: epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available.
M
Types:
Primary Sources
Canada's national weekly current affairs magazine.
Coverage: 1905 - 2015
Coverage: 1905 - 2015
Mass Observation Online
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Reports, surveys, diaries, photographs, maps, and essays related to social research. Geographical area: Britain.
Coverage: 1930s - 1970s
More Info
Papers from the archives of Mass Observation, a British social research organization. Includes both material collected by investigators and material submitted by volunteers.
Types:
Primary Sources
This archive documents the political, gastronomic, economic, artistic, and medical culture of early modern Europe.
Coverage: 1537 - 1743
Coverage: 1537 - 1743
Medieval Travel Writing
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Manuscripts of European travel writing. Covers geography, exploration, trade, literature.
Coverage: 13th - 16th centuries
Types:
Primary Sources
Musical scores, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Coverage: Renaissance - present
Coverage: Renaissance - present
N
Types:
Primary Sources
Full archive of this American current affairs weekly magazine.
Coverage: 1865 - 2nd most recent month
Coverage: 1865 - 2nd most recent month
More Info
Latest month embargoed.
Latest month embargoed.
Types:
Primary Sources
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of Indigenous peoples in America and Canada.
Coverage: 1672-present
Coverage: 1672-present
Types:
Primary Sources
American magazine that features political and social commentaries.
Coverage: 1914 - 2010
Coverage: 1914 - 2010
Types:
Primary Sources
Search for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1851 - 3 years ago
Coverage: 1851 - 3 years ago
Types:
News Sources: current
Primary Sources
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Coverage: 1970s - present
More Info
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Types:
Primary Sources
Nine pamphlet collections covering various socio-political themes in Britain including Anti-slavery, universal suffrage, criminal punishment, and more.
Coverage: 1545 - 1931
Coverage: 1545 - 1931
More Info
Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection; Hume Tracts; Bristol Selected Pamphlets; Cowen Tracts; Earl Grey Pamphlets; Foreign and Commonwealth Office; Knowsley Pamphlets; LSE Selected Pamphlets, and Selections of the University of Manchester covering the Irish Question, Free Trade, and women's suffrage.
Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection; Hume Tracts; Bristol Selected Pamphlets; Cowen Tracts; Earl Grey Pamphlets; Foreign and Commonwealth Office; Knowsley Pamphlets; LSE Selected Pamphlets, and Selections of the University of Manchester covering the Irish Question, Free Trade, and women's suffrage.
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Personal narratives of immigrants to Canada and the United States.
Coverage: 18th century - present
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Biographies, autobiographies, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on Indigenous peoples of North America.
Coverage: 17th century - present
North American Women's Drama
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Plays, playbills, production photos, and other materials related to women playwrights.
Coverage: 1714 - present
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Collection of women's diaries and correspondence.
Coverage: 1675 - 1950
P
Types:
Primary Sources
Archive of selected 19 and 20th century community newspapers from across Canada, the United States, and other countries.
Coverage: varies
Coverage: varies
Past Masters
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Works by notable figures of the Humanities. Coverage includes philosophy, political thought, and religious studies. Filter by geographical area, gender, and time period.
Coverage: ancient - modern
Types:
Primary Sources
Original texts, critical apparatus, and indexes relating to Early Christian history and the writings of Church Fathers.
Coverage: 200 - 1216
Coverage: 200 - 1216
More Info
Find the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855 and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Find the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855 and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Types:
Primary Sources
These manuscripts were written or compiled by women in the British Isles. Find transcriptions and images of all manner of writing from account book entries, diaries, essays, hymns, and more
Coverage: 16th - 17th centuries
Coverage: 16th - 17th centuries
Types:
Primary Sources
An archive of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Coverage: 1802 - 2005
Coverage: 1802 - 2005
Types:
Primary Sources
A one-of-a-kind database of psychological tests and measures, designed for use with social and behavioral science research. There are over 68,000 records available. Focused primarily on unpublished tests. This database was designed to save your researchers time from having to reproduce tests when conducting research on previously measured constructs.
Coverage: Tests dating back from the late 1800s
Coverage: Tests dating back from the late 1800s
More Info
Monthly updates with new content and corrections. Full-text tests including PDF or
multimedia files. Access to resources in more than 40 languages.
Monthly updates with new content and corrections. Full-text tests including PDF or
multimedia files. Access to resources in more than 40 languages.
R
Types:
Primary Sources
Peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
Coverage: Varies
Coverage: Varies
S
Types:
Primary Sources
Clinical reference on treatment of infectious diseases and
anti-infective drug information.
Coverage: current
anti-infective drug information.
Coverage: current
Types:
Primary Sources
Video and Images
Find diaries, letters, biographies, oral histories, government documents, videos, and periodicals, and more originating from the United States, Canada, and Europe. Scholarly commentary also included.
Coverage: 1960-1974
Coverage: 1960-1974
Types:
Primary Sources
Search details of over 35,000 voyages involving the forcible transport of some 12 million Africans to the Americas. Find data and analysis on the trans-Atlantic and intra-American enslavement including an African name registry, interactive maps, timelines, and images.
Coverage: 1514 - 1866
Coverage: 1514 - 1866
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images relating to enslavement.
Coverage: 1490 - 2007
Types:
Primary Sources
This collection focuses on African American life and history in the United States and the Caribbean. It includes documents created by Black people, slave
trade correspondence, and government publications. From Houghton Library, Harvard University.
Coverage: 1780 - 1910s
trade correspondence, and government publications. From Houghton Library, Harvard University.
Coverage: 1780 - 1910s
Types:
Primary Sources
Collection of the original works of major social thinkers and to texts representing key trends in sociology.
Coverage: 1787 - 2002
Coverage: 1787 - 2002
Types:
Primary Sources
Materials relating to colonial rule, Black resistance, and attempts by international networks to fight racism from afar. Focus is on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
Coverage: 1940s - 2010s
Coverage: 1940s - 2010s
More Info
Included are pamphlets created by the Liberation Support Movement (LSM) 1969-1981 based out of the west coast of Canada and the United States.
Included are pamphlets created by the Liberation Support Movement (LSM) 1969-1981 based out of the west coast of Canada and the United States.
Types:
Primary Sources
Bibliography on aspects of Greek epigraphy, as well as summaries of Greek inscriptions.
Coverage: varies
Coverage: varies
T
Types:
Primary Sources
A database of Canadian tax information including law and legislation, government documents, commentary from tax experts and case law.
WatIAM credentials may be required for access.
WatIAM credentials may be required for access.
Theatre in Context Collection
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Find images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other ephemera resources relating to Canadian and American theatre.
Coverage: 16th century - present
Types:
Primary Sources
Popular American weekly publication. Articles cover United States of America and international news on a broad spectrum of topics.
Coverage: March 1923- December 2000
Coverage: March 1923- December 2000
More Info
To browse the front cover images of each issue, use the publisher's Time Vault (http://time.com/vault).
To browse the front cover images of each issue, use the publisher's Time Vault (http://time.com/vault).
Types:
Primary Sources
Search for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1785 - 2019
Coverage: 1785 - 2019
Types:
Primary Sources
Search for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1894 - 3 years ago
Coverage: 1894 - 3 years ago
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Alumni Access
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Find playbills, posters, production ephemera, information on theatrical companies, and biographical details. The database contains many previously unpublished plays. Search by gender, number of speakers, year.
Coverage: 1835 - present
U
Types:
Primary Sources
Find documents of the British House of Commons and House of Lords: Hansard (Debates), bills, acts, reports of Royal Commissions, and select committees, Command papers, accounts and more.
Coverage: 1688 - 2022
Coverage: 1688 - 2022
W
Alumni Access
Types:
Primary Sources
Primary and secondary materials about the history of women in social movements.
Coverage: 1600 - 2000
Types:
Primary Sources
Find primary sources relating to women’s activism. Featured are female-authored literature and women’s periodicals.
Coverage: 1800s - 2000
Coverage: 1800s - 2000
Types:
Primary Sources
Contains copies of three English language newspapers: The India Gazette (1782-1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822-1866); and The Bengal Times (1876-1908).
Coverage: 1782 - 1908
Coverage: 1782 - 1908
Types:
Primary Sources
English translations of and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, books, and United States government documents, relating to global reaction to major protest and reform movements.
Coverage: 1945 - 1996
Coverage: 1945 - 1996