Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY

Biology: Key information resources

Find Articles and Journals

Find information on a gene or sequence

Introductions and Help

Jove

  General Laboratory Techniques This collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments.
  Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology This collection demonstrates how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
 

Biology I: yeast, Drosophila and C. elegans

 

This unique collection features three model organisms commonly used in life sciences research; also covering methodology to maintain them in the laboratory.
  Biology II: Mouse, zebrafish, and chick This collection features three vertebrate species commonly used in life sciences research; also covering methodology on how they are maintained in the laboratory.
  Lab Animal Research This collection is a comprehensive video guide for appropriate lab animal care and use. Since a majority of biomedical research is focused on studies involving rodents, it is critical that every scientist learns the essential procedures demonstrated in these videos.
  Lab safety This collection provides safety guidelines to be followed when working with hazardous materials and equipment. It covers universal topics such as PPE, electrical safety, and general emergency guidelines, as well as some specific safety procedures for chemistry and biology laboratories.

 

  Cell Biology This collection provides a glimpse into the field of cell biology and profiles five important cellular phenomena: cell division; motility; endocytosis and exocytosis; metabolism; and cell death.
  Developmental Biology  This collection introduces the field of developmental biology and cover five areas: developmental genetics; molecular developmental biology; stem cell biology; organogenesis; and aging and regeneration.
  Genetics This collection focuses on genetics and incorporates five broad subdisciplines: the genetics of individuals and populations; genetics and disease; gene expression; epigenetics; and genetic engineering.
  Immunology This collection covers many staple techniques of immunology labs, including the labeling and sorting of immune cells. It also demonstrates proliferation methods for immune cells and antibodies, as well as common assays for immune activity including ELISA. Finally, it demonstrates staining and imaging of immune tissue and cell samples.
  Microbiology This collection demonstrates the key tools of microbiological investigation, including proper sterile technique and plating, how to use selective media and enrich samples, and culturing methods for mixed or pure samples. Additionally, it looks at common methods for identifying microbial isolates, as well as procedures for the genetic manipulation of bacteria.
  Neuroscience This collection provides an introduction to the field of neuroscience, exploring five major branches of study: neurophysiology; neuroanatomy; cell and molecular neuroscience; behavioral neuroscience; and developmental neuroscience.

 

Find theses and dissertations

Encyclopedias

Need More Help? Connect with me

Microsoft Teams photo of Brie McConnell We should talk! For help with customized literature searches, using boolean logic, formatting research posters and media, critical appraisal and reading scientific literature, and lots more, connect with me online. E-mail me or Book a virtual meeting with me on Microsoft Teams.