Research guides: Medieval Studies: Find Books

Search Databases to Find Citations for Books

Das Digitale Repertorium "Geschichtsquellen des deutschen Mittelalters"
"historical sources of the German Middle Ages" is a bibliographic source and geographical lexicon for the medieval German Empire for the period from about 750 to 1500.

Primary Source Etexts of Interest to Medieval Studies

Brill's New Jacoby
A collection of texts and commentary on fragments of the work of 856 Greek historians.
Coverage: ancient - present

This edition of Jacoby is supplemented with English translations and critical commentary. Also includes an online edition of the original "Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker I-III."
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Facsimiles of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere.
Coverage: 1475 - 1700

EEBO contains images of works by such authors as Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. The database also includes musical exercises by Henry Purcell, novels by Aphra Behn, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Literature Online (LION)
Full text journal articles and other criticism and reference resources on works relating to English and American literature, and early Canadian poetry.
Coverage: 8th century - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

ETANEA
Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives
Greek and Roman texts
from the Perseus Digital Library
Latin Background 1100-1550
authoritative editions of Latin texts and correspondence (with translations) from some of the most important figures of medieval England.