Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aquatic and Marine Research Databases
AlgaeBase is a global algal database of taxonomic, nomenclatural and distributional information.
FishBase covers a wide range of information on all fish species currently known in the world, including taxonomy, biology, trophic ecology, life history, and uses, as well as historical data reaching back to 250 years.
Biogeoinformatics of hexacorallia (corals, sea anemones, and their allies): interfacing geospatial, taxonomic, and environmental data for a group of marine invertebrates.
IODE Ocean Data Portal
IODE Ocean Data Portal(ODP) provides a “one-stop shop” approach to oceanographic data held by the IODE global network of 80 National Oceanographic Data Centres (NODCs), as well as to resources from other participating systems.
MarineBio is an ever-evolving tribute to all ocean life that has been a central source online for the latest information concerning marine life and its biology, and especially its conservation, since 1998.
All about different ocean instruments, how they work, what they do and why they do it. Written and/or edited by experts in ocean science and engineering, in addition to links to glossaries and multimedia technologies including video streaming, audio packages, and searchable databases.
ReefBase gathers available knowledge about coral reefs into one information repository. It is intended to facilitate analyses and monitoring of coral reef health and the quality of life of reef-dependent people, and to support informed decisions about coral reef use and management.
Sea Slug Forum
World Register of Marine Species (WORMS)
BHL: Biodiversity Heritage Library
Provides natural history, biodiversity, and taxonomic literature.
GISD: Global Invasive Species Database
The Global Invasive Species Database is a free, online searchable source of information about alien and invasive species that negatively impact biodiversity.
The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
GBIF was established by governments in 2001 to encourage free and open access to biodiversity data, via the Internet. Through a global network of 57 countries and 47 organizations, GBIF promotes and facilitates the mobilization, access, discovery and use of information about the occurrence of organisms over time and across the planet.
The IUCN Red List of Endangered Species
Established in 1964, The International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global conservation status of animal, fungi and plant species.
Birds of the World: The Cornell Lab of Ornithology:
Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds
Climate and Weather Research Data
Comprehensive and current bibliographies on Antarctic regions, Science and Technology for cold regions, and the USPA Permafrost Alert Program
Google Cloud: weather and climate
Google Cloud’s Public Datasets Program can help you better understand and predict that impact by providing access to some of the most valuable global public weather and climate datasets, at no cost.
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information.