We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
| Evidence-based research and practice | Studies: Clinical trials, interventional and observational |
Clinical Trials and Research Registries
- ClinicalTrials.gov: Vision Disorder trialsReview ongoing and completed interventional studies regarding vision disorders.
- How to read a study record
A breakdown of essential study record elements from ClinicalTrials.gov. - ISRCTN Registry: eye diseasesThe ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation.
- NIH Clinical Alerts and AdvisoriesClinical alerts are provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity and mortality.
Recommended Reading
Clinical trial registries
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- European Union Clinical Trials RegisterSearch for protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA), as well as clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European pediatric-medicine development.
- Health Canada's Clinical Trials DatabaseProvides a listing of specific information relating to phase I, II and III clinical trials in patients. The database is managed by Health Canada and provides a source of information about Canadian clinical trials involving human pharmaceutical and biological drugs.
- ISRCTN registryThe ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation. Provided and maintained by BMC, Spring Nature.
- New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai: Clinical Trials in OphthalmologyA list of current and ongoing clinical trials.
- World Health Organization International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)Includes 16 national and international registries.
Further reading
Clinical Trials by ISBN: 3030354873Publication Date: 2020-03-11This extensively revised second edition is a unique and portable handbook focusing on clinical trials in surgery. It includes new educational materials addressing the rapid evolution of novel research methodologies in basic science, clinical and educational research. The underlying principles of clinical trials, trial design, the development of a study cohort, statistics, data safety, data monitoring, and trial publication for device and drug trials are also discussed.
Active, recruiting and recently completed trials for the School of Optometry and Vision Science
Loading ...
Clinical Trials at the University of Waterloo
- Clinical trial research at UWaterlooAll proposed research with human subjects must go through the Office of Research Ethics.
Types of clinical studies
An interventional trial is a type of clinical study in which participants are assigned to groups that receive one or more intervention/treatment (or no intervention) so that researchers can evaluate the effects of the interventions on biomedical or health-related outcomes. The assignments are determined by the study's protocol. Participants may receive diagnostic, therapeutic, or other types of interventions.
A protocol is the written description of a clinical study. It includes the study's objectives, design, and methods. It may also include relevant scientific background and statistical information.
An intervention or treatment is a process or action that is the focus of a clinical study. Interventions include drugs, medical devices, procedures, vaccines, and other products that are either investigational or already available. Interventions can also include noninvasive approaches, such as education or modifying diet and exercise.1
In observational clinical studies, participants are identified as belonging to study groups and are assessed for biomedical or health outcomes. Participants may receive diagnostic, therapeutic, or other types of interventions, but the investigator does not assign participants to a specific interventions/treatment. A patient registry is a type of observational study. 1
Research Databases
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)Provides comprehensive coverage of the literature related to public health and allied health disciplines.
Coverage: 1981 - present - Cochrane LibraryArticles on evidence-based medicine, including systematic reviews, clinical trials and health technology assessments.
Coverage: current - EMBASE (OVID)Indexes international biomedical and pharmaceutical journals.
Coverage: 1974 - present - MedlineLiterature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present - PsycINFOArticles, dissertations and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Coverage: 1840 - present - PubMedArticles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present
References
1 How to read a study record. ClinicalTrials.gov. https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/help/how-read-study. Published 2017 Dec. Accessed Jan 20, 2021.