Research guides: Economics: Find Articles

Key Databases

EconLit
Economic literature relating to business administration, economic development, economic history, industrial organization and macroeconomics.
Coverage: 1969 - present
IDRC Digital Library
A repository of information and technical reports on international development.
Coverage: 1970 - present
The IDRC (International Development Research Centre) Digital Library contains outputs from projects funded by the International Development Research Centre. Topics include climate change, economics, employment and growth, environment, evaluation, food and agriculture, innovation, governance, health, communication, natural resources, science and technology, social policy.

Other Databases

Depending on your topic, the following databases may be of use.

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
Business Source Elite
Provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals.
Includes Harvard Business Review.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
Full text articles on a range of topics from Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapaers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1988 - present
Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Alternative Press Index (API)
Tracks articles and other news pieces published in non-mainstream periodicals from the US and Canada.
Coverage: 1969 - present
API indexes articles of 5 or more paragraphs, including: editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, directories, resource lists; autobiographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews: book, film, record, TV, drama, arts, and multimedia.

Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Independent Voices: an Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Periodicals by feminists, student radicals, Indigenous peoples, anti-war activists, Black rights advocates, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+) activists, extreme right-wing press, and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present
America History and Life
Identifies articles, book reviews, and dissertations on American and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Coverage: mid 1950s - present
Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Historical Abstracts
Articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Coverage: 1955 - present
Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.

Government Documents

AccessUN
more...less...
The premier index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents.
Canadian Research Index
more...less...
Provides citations and abstracts to Canadian government and research publications on microfiche from 1982 to present. Microfiche filed in Micro Room by Microlog Number (CA7.P...)