Company Information: Rankings & Other Resources

Porter Controlled Access HD2807.F54x (1985-present)
Formerly known as the FP500. Ranks Canada’s largest companies, both public and private, by revenue. Additional rankings include companies within their industry, top subsidiaries, top crown corporations, largest foreign-controlled companies, and the top 40 companies by market capitalization.

Porter PER HF3221.C36x (1999-present)
The Canadian Business magazine provides an annual ranking of Canada’s largest companies, as measured by market capitalization, by one-year return (actual date of issue varies, but generally during the summer).

Forbes provides a number of company rankings, including America's Largest Public Companies, America's Largest Private Companies, Global 2000, etc.

Rankings also available by state, industry, and various "top company" categories. Annual rankings are available back to 1955.

Forbes uses an equal weighting of sales, profits, assets and market value to rank companies according to size. Rankings are also available by company name, country, industry, sales, market value, profits, and assets.

Rankings available by revenue, profit, number of employees, location, etc.

Stock prices for companies listed on the New York Stock Exchange and NASDAQ.
Access available through WRDS. Available only to faculty and graduate students. You will need to create a free account.

aka CFMRC/TSX Database Quarterly Update

Porter Ref HF3223.C25 (latest edition only)
Contains detailed information on over 30,000 Canadian companies, featuring nearly 100,000 product listings under more than 20,000 headings.

Porter Ref HF3223.F7 (latest edition)
Davis Ref HF3223.F7 (2nd latest edition)
Frasers is a comprehensive directory and search tool, providing information on Canadian industrial wholesalers, manufacturers, distributors, and their products and services. It also lists international companies that supply goods and services to the Canadian marketplace. Search by company, product, or brand name.

Porter Quick Ref HF3223.G8x (latest edition only)
Covers about 10,000 top manufacturing locations. Includes data on company purchases of raw materials and capital machinery used in production, company products, and personnel information.

Porter Ref HG4090.Z5D6 (current edition)
Earlier editions kept in Porter Stacks
Provides basic biographical information on officers and directors of Canadian companies.