RefWorks (Classic): Import Citations

EBSCOhost includes the following databases:

• America: History & Life
• American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
• Anthropology Plus
• Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
• Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
• Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
• Bibliography of Native North Americans
• Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson)
• Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
• Business Source Elite
• CINAHL
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
• E-Journals
• Family & Society Studies Worldwide
• Historical Abstracts
• History of Science, Technology & Medicine
• Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
• Index to Jewish Periodicals
• LGBTQ+ Source
• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
• Maclean's Magazine Archive
• MLA Directory of Periodicals
• MLA International Bibliography
• Music Index
• Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
• Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
• Regional Business News
• SPORTDiscus
• The Nation Archive
• The New Republic Archive
• The New Republic Archive (DFG)
• Time Magazine Archive

To export citations directly from EBSCOhost, follow these steps:

(Skip to text only instructions)

Step 1: Access EBSCOhost from the Library's website. Perform a search. Add the references you would like to export to the Folder by selecting the folder icon to the right of the title.

Step 2: When you are ready to export your references to RefWorks, select the Folder from the menu options at the top right of the page to view all items.

Step 3: In the folder, mark the references you wish to export by selecting the check box to the left of each title. Then select Export from the menu at the top right of the list of articles.

Step 4: On the left you will see the number of items being exported. You will also be given the option to remove these items from the folder after you export them. Check the box for this option if desired. To the right is a list of export options. The default selection for UWaterloo Library patrons is Direct Export to RefWorks. This is the correct option. Select the Save button.

Step 5: Next, a window will appear asking if you would like to export to the newest version of RefWorks or the legacy version. Select the link that reads: No, export to the legacy version of RefWorks.

Step 6: If you are not signed in to RefWorks, you will be taken to the login screen. Sign in. Next, a window will appear confirming that your references have been imported. Select View Last Imported Folder to find the files just imported. To view all references, close the window by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window.

EBSCOhost (text only)

To export citations directly from EBSCOhost, follow these steps:

Step 1: Access EBSCOhost from the Library's website. Perform a search. Add the references you would like to export to the Folder by selecting the folder icon to the right of the title.

Step 2: When you are ready to export your references to RefWorks, select the Folder from the menu options at the top right of the page to view all items.

Step 3: In the folder, mark the references you wish to export by selecting the check box to the left of each title. Then select Export from the menu at the top right of the list of articles.

Step 4: On the left you will see the number of items being exported. You will also be given the option to remove these items from the folder after you export them. Check the box for this option if desired. To the right is a list of export options. The default selection for UWaterloo Library patrons is Direct Export to RefWorks. This is the correct option. Select the Save button.

Step 5: Next, a window will appear asking if you would like to export to the newest version of RefWorks or the legacy version. Select the link that reads: No, export to the legacy version of RefWorks.

Step 6: If you are not signed in to RefWorks, you will be taken to the login screen. Sign in. Next, a window will appear confirming that your references have been imported. Select View Last Imported Folder to find the files just imported. To view all references, close the window by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window.

ProQuest includes the following databases:

• ABI/INFORM Global
• ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry‎ (1971 - current)  
• American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)          
• APA PsycArticles®‎ (1894 - current)           
• ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)‎ (1974 - current)           
• Asian & European Business Collection‎ (1971 - current)   
• Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals‎ (1934 - current)
• Black Studies Center‎ (1900 - current)     
• Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database‎   
• Canadian Research Index‎            
• Coronavirus Research Database‎
• Dissertations & Theses @ University of Waterloo‎              
• Early Modern Books‎      
• Early English Books Online           
• Ebook Central‎   
• EconLit‎ (1886 - current)
• ERIC‎ (1966 - current)     
• FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals‎ (1972 – current)        
• GenderWatch‎  
• International Bibliography of Art (IBA)‎   
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)‎ (1951 - current)  
• Latin American Women Writers‎
• Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction‎      
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)‎ (1973 - current)         
• Literature Online‎             
• Materials Science & Engineering Collection‎ (1965 - current)         
• National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database‎ (1975 - current)
• Periodicals Archive Online‎           
• Philosopher's Index‎ (1940 - current)       
• Politics Collection‎ (1914 - current)           
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution‎ (1868 - 1945)
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Boston Globe‎ (1872 - 1989)              
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)              
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1997)
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2007)     
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail‎ (1844 - 2017)          
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant‎ (1764 - 1995)               
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1996)             
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2017)         
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star (1894 - 2018)        
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 2003)   
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2004)       
• ProQuest One Literature‎              
• PTSDpubs‎ (1871 - current)          
• Publicly Available Content Database‎       
• Sociology Collection‎ (1952 - current)

To export references directly from ProQuest, follow these steps:

(Skip to text only instructions)

Step 1: Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the check box in the top left corner of the entry. The number of items selected will appear at the top of the list of results.

Step 2: Select the All save options button from the list of buttons at the top right of the results list. This option is represented by 3 white dots in a teal circle.

Step 3: From the All save options pop-up menu, go to Citation Export and select RefWorks.

Step 4: This will bring up an Export/Save options window. This window will show the number of items selected and give you the option to deselect items when done. Check that the output will be to RefWorks. Note that the content exported includes the citation, abstract, and indexing. You will need to complete the CAPTCHA before clicking Continue at the bottom of the window.

Step 5: Next, a window will appear asking if you would like to export to the newest version of RefWorks or the legacy version. Select the link that reads: No, export to the legacy version of RefWorks.

Step 6: If you are not signed in to RefWorks, you will be taken to the login screen. Sign in. Next, a window will appear confirming that your references have been imported. Select View Last Imported Folder to find the references just imported. To view all references, close the window by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window.

Proquest (text only)

To export references directly from ProQuest, follow these steps:

Step 1: Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the check box in the top left corner of the entry. The number of items selected will appear at the top of the list of results.

Step 2: Select the All save options button from the list of buttons at the top right of the results list. This option is represented by three white dots in a teal circle.

Step 3: From the All save options pop-up menu, go to Citation Export and select RefWorks.

Step 4: This will bring up an Export/Save options window. This window will show the number of items selected and give you the option to deselect items when done. Check that the output will be to RefWorks. Note that the content exported includes the citation, abstract, and indexing. You will need to complete the CAPTCHA before clicking Continue at the bottom of the window.

Step 5: Next, a window will appear asking if you would like to export to the newest version of RefWorks or the legacy version. Select the link that reads: No, export to the legacy version of RefWorks.

Step 6: If you are not signed in to RefWorks, you will be taken to the login screen. Sign in. Next, a window will appear confirming that your references have been imported. Select View Last Imported Folder to find the references just imported. To view all references, close the window by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window.

To export references directly from PubMed, follow these steps:

(Skip to text only instructions)

Step 1: Access PubMed from the Library website. Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the check box in the top left hand corner of the entry. The number of references selected will appear at the top of your search results.

Step 2: Select the third button under the search bar entitled Send to. From the drop down menu select the fourth item Citation manager.

Step 3: A prompt to Create a file for external citation management software appears. Select the button create file.  

Step 4a: Depending on your browser settings the file may automatically save to your downloads folder, or you may see a pop-up asking if you want to open or save the file. Select Save file. It will be a .nbib file type.

Step 4b: Select your preferred location for the file. Do not change the file name or file type. Save.

Step 5: Next, open a new tab on your computer and log into your RefWorks account. Select References, found just below the RefWorks logo, and from the drop down menu select Import.

Step 6: An Import References window then appears allowing you to import from a text file. Open the drop-down menu for Import Filter/Data Source  and select NLM PubMed. This will automatically change the database to PubMed. 

Step 7: Next, in the same window, go to the Select Text File button and select Browse (in some computers this is Choose File).

Step 8: Your computer folders will appear. Go to the location of the saved .nbib file. Select the desired .nbib file and select Open.

Step 9: You will now see the Import References window again with the file name in the Select Text File field. Select the Import button in the bottom right hand corner of this window.

Step 10: A new window opens: Import References. This window confirms that your import has occurred. You can exit this page by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window which takes you to all of the references in your account. Alternatively, if you select the icon at the bottom right of the box, View Last Imported Folder, you will access the references you just imported.

PubMed (text only)

To export references directly from PubMed, follow these steps:

Step 1: Access PubMed from the Library website. Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the check box in the top left hand corner of the entry. The number of references selected will appear at the top of your search results.

Step 2: Select the third button under the search bar entitled Send to. From the drop down menu select the fourth item Citation manager.

Steps 3: A prompt to Create a file for external citation management software appears. Select the button create file. 

Step 4a: Depending on your browser settings the file may automatically save to your downloads folders or you may see a pop-up asking if you want to open or save the file. Select Save file. It will be a .nbib file type.

Step 4b: Select your preferred location for the file. Do not change the file name or file type. Save.

Step 5: Next, open a new tab on your computer and log in to your RefWorks account. Select References, found just below the RefWorks icon, and from the drop down menu select Import.

Step 6: An Import References window then appears allowing you to import from a text file. Open the drop-down menu for Import Filter/Data Source and select NLM PubMed. This will automatically change the database to PubMed.

Step 7: Next, in the same window, go to the Select text file and select Browse (in some computers this is Choose File). 

Step 8: Your computer folders will appear. Go to the location of the saved .nbib file. Select the desired .nbib file and select Open.

Step 9: Your will now see the Import References window again with the file name in the Select Text File field. Select the Import button in the bottom right hand corner of this window.

Step 10: A new window opens: Import References. This window confirms that your import has occurred. You can exit this page by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window which takes you to all of the reference in your account. Alternatively, if you select the icon at the bottom right of the box, View Last Imported Folder, you will access the references you just imported.

To export references directly from Scopus, follow these steps:

(Skip to text only instructions)

Step 1: Access Scopus from the Library's website. Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the box in the top left corner of the entry.

Step 2: In the menu of options above the search results list, select Export.

Note: After you have gone through the process of exporting to RefWorks once, the next time you export within the same session, Export to RefWorks will appear as an option in this menu.

Step 3: A window will appear asking you to select your method of export. Select ExLibris RefWorks. Here you may also select the additional information you want to export. The default selection is all Citation information. After your selections have been made, select Export in the bottom right corner of the window.

Step 4: A new tab will open asking if you would like to export to the newest version of RefWorks or the legacy version. Select the link that reads: No, export to the legacy version of RefWorks.

Step 5: If you have not already logged in to RefWorks, you will be taken to the login screen. Log in. Next, a window will appear confirming that your references have been imported. Select View Last Imported Folder to find the references just imported. To view all references, close the window by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window.

Scopus (text only)

To export references directly from Scopus, follow these steps:

Step 1:  Access Scopus form the Library's website. Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the box in the top left corner of the entry.

Step 2: In the menu of options above the search results list, select Export.

Note: After you have gone through the process of exporting to RefWorks once, the next time you export within the same session, Export to RefWorks will appear as an option in this menu.

Step 3:  A window will appear asking you to select your method of export. Select ExLibris RefWorks. Here you may also select the additional information you want to export. The default selection is all Citation Information. After your selections have been made, select Export in the bottom right corner of the window.

Step 4:  A new tab will open asking if you would like to export to the newest version of RefWorks or the legacy version. Select the link that reads: No, export to the legacy version of RefWorks.

Step 5: If you have not already logged in to RefWorks, you will be taken to the login screen. Log in. Next, a window will appear confirming that your references have been imported. Select View Last Imported Folder to find the references just imported. To view all references, close the window by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window.

To export references directly from Web of Science, follow these steps:

(Skip to text only instructions)

Step 1: Access Web of Science from the Library's website. Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the check box in the top left corner of the entry.

Step 2: Above your search results you will find two buttons. Select the right hand button entitled Export.

Step 3: A drop down menu will appear. Choose the option: Plain text file.

Step 4: A window will appear entitled Export Records to Plain Text File. First, choose your Record Options from the three provided. Then choose your Record Content from the drop down menu. After these two steps, select Export. 

Depending on your browser and computer settings, the file with your references may automatically save to your downloads folder, or you may see a pop-up asking if you want to open or save the file and choose the location. If prompted, open and save the file. The saved file with your references from Web of Science will be a .txt file.

Step 5: Next, open a new tab on your computer and log in to your RefWorks account. Select References, found just below the RefWorks icon, and from the drop down menu that appears, select Import.

Step 6: An Import References window then appears allowing you to Import From a Text File. Open the drop down menu for Import Filter/Data Source and select Thomson Reuters. Open the drop down menu for Database and select Web of Science.

Step 7: Next, in the same window, go to the Select Text File box and select Choose File (in some computers this is Browse).

Step 8: When you select Choose File (or Browse) your computer folders will appear. Go to the location of your saved .txt file, for example your Downloads folder. Select the desired .txt file and select Open.

Step 9: You will now see the Import References window again with the file name in the Select Text File field. Select the Import button in the bottom right hand corner of this window.

Step 10: A new window opens: Import References. This window confirms that your import has occurred. You can exit this page by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window, which takes you to all of the references in your account. Alternatively, if you select the button at the bottom right of the box: View Last Imported Folder, you will access the references you just imported.

Web of Science (text only)

To export references directly from Web of Science, follow these steps:

Step 1: Access Web of Science from the Library website. Perform a search. On the search results page, mark the references you want to export by selecting the check box in the top left corner of the entry.

Step 2: Above your search results you will find two button. Select the right hand button entitled Export.

Step 3: A drop down menu will appear. Choose the option: Plain text file.

Step 4: A window will appear entitled Export Records to Plain Text File. First, choose your Record Options from the three provided. Then, choose your Record Content from the drop-down menu. After these two steps, select Export.

Depending on your browser settings the file may automatically save to your downloads folder or you may see a pop-up asking if you want to open or save the file and choose the location. Follow the steps your system generates in order to save the file into your downloads folder, or where you want it saved. The saved file will be a .txt file type.

Step 5: Next, open a new tab on your computer and log in to your RefWorks account. Select References, found just below the RefWorks icon, and from the drop-down menu that appears, select Import.

Step 6: An Import References window then appears allowing you to Import From a Text File. In this window, open the drop-down menu for Import Filter/Data Source and select Thomson Reuters. Open the drop-down menu for Database and select Web of Science.

Step 7: Next, in the same window,  go to the Select text file button and select Choose File (in some computers this is Browse).

Step 8: When you select Choose File (or Browse) your computer folders appear. Go to the location of your saved .txt file, for example in your downloads folder. Select the desired .txt file and Select Open.

Step 9: You will now see the Import References window again with your file name in the Select Text File field. Select the Import button in the bottom right hand corner of this window.

Step 10: A new window opens: Import References. This window confirms that your import has occurred. You can exit this page by selecting the X in the top right corner of the window which takes you to all of the references in your account. Alternatively, if you select the button at the bottom right of the box, View Last Imported Folder, you will access the references you just imported.

To manually enter a reference into RefWorks, follow these steps:

(Skip to text only instructions)

Step 1: Log in to your RefWorks account. Select the New Reference button. Alternatively, hover over the References button and select Import from the drop-down menu that appears.

Step 2: An Add New Reference window opens. First, from the Fields used by button access the drop-down menu to select your citation style. You will see your Favourites and the University of Waterloo specific styles. Then, select the and Reference Type button and from the drop-down menu and select your reference type.

Step 3: Next, in the fields that follow, populate all of the fields for which you have information.

Step 4: Below the first set of fields, under the Add to folder and Attachments link there is an Additional Fields button. Select this link and add any other information you have for your reference.

Step 5: Next, if you wish to save this reference to a specific folder in your RefWorks account, in the same window, proceed to the Add to folder button and select your folder from the drop-down menu.

Step 6: If you have an attachment you wish to save with the reference, proceed to the Attachments link. Select the Choose File button. The folders of your computer will appear. Select the item you wish to attach to your reference. Select Open.

Step 7: After selecting open to obtain the item from your computer you wish to save, you will return to the Add New Reference window. A message will appear that you must save the attachment to this reference before you can add it. Select OK.

Step 8: The item you have chosen will appear as an icon beneath the Choose File button. If you need to remove it, a delete link appears immediately above the icon.

Step 9: Next, proceed to the bottom right hand corner of the window. You now have two choices: Save Reference and Save & Add New. If you have additional references you need to add manually, select Save & Add New. Otherwise, select Save Reference.

Step 10: To go to the references you have added to your RefWorks account, select the X in the upper right hand corner of the window.

Manual Import (text only)

To manually enter a reference into Refwork, follow these steps:

Step 1: Log in to your Refworks Account. Select the New Reference button. Alternatively, hover over the References button and select Import from the drop-down menu that appears.

Step 2: An Add New Reference window opens. First, from the Fields used by button select your citation style. You will see your Favourite citation styles and the University of Waterloo specific styles. Then, select the and Reference type button from the drop-down menu, and select your reference type.

Step 3: Next, in the fields that follow, populate all of the fields for which you have information.

Step 4: Below the first sets of fields, under the Add to folder link and the Attachments link there is an Additional Fields button. Select this link and add any other information you have for your reference.

Step 5: Next, if you wish to save this reference to a specific folder in your RefWorks account, in the same window, proceed to the Add to folder button and select your folder from the drop-down menu.

Step 6: If you have an attachment you wish to save with the reference proceed to the Attachments link. Select the Choose File button.  The folders of your computer will appear. Select the item you wish to attach to your reference. Select open.

Step 7: After selecting open for the item from your computer you wish to save, you will then return to the Add New Reference window. A message will appear that you must save the attachment to this reference before you can add it. Select OK.

Step 8: The item you have chosen will appear as an icon beneath the Choose File button. If you need to remove it, a delete link appears immediately above the icon.

Step 9: Next, proceed to the bottom right hand corner of the window. You now have two choices: Save Reference and Save & Add New. If you have additional references you need to add manually, select Save & Add New. Otherwise select Save Reference.

Step 10: To go to the references you have added to your RefWorks account, select the X in the upper right hand corner of the window.