We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Omni, the Library catalogue
- Omni's advanced searchTry this 2 step approach to locate book reviews published in journals.
Step 1. Enter the book's title and its author/editor, for example: "Junk DNA" carey. Click "Search"
Step 2. From the filter options on the left, choose "Reviews" to limit to book reviews
Review databases
- Book Review Digest PlusFind reviews of books on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources.
Coverage: 1903 - present - Choice ReviewsSearch for reviews of academic books, media, and online resources. Areas of scholarly include the humanities, social and behavioral sciences, and science and technology.
Coverage: 1988 - present
- H-France Review and H-France ForumSee the left navigation bar for "H-France Review"
- H-Net ReviewsScholarly reviews of books in the humanities and social sciences.
Coverage: 1993 - present - London Review of BooksBook reviews and essays. Includes art and film reviews, poems and letters.
Coverage: 1979 - present
- AAG Book ReviewsAmerican Association of Geographers Book Reviews
- The Medieval Review (TMR)Coverage: 1993 - present
- Nature Book ReviewsReviews of books on all fields of science and technology.
Coverage: 1986 - present
- New York Review of BooksReviews of books from a variety of genres: biographies and memoirs; food and wine; essays and criticism; history; poetry; politics; current affairs; science; philosophy; crime; visual and performing arts.
Coverage: 1963 - present
Databases that contain reviews
- Academic OneFileLimit search to Book Review under Document type.
Coverage: 1980 - present - CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)Select Review from Document Type section.
Coverage: 1982 - present - FactivaA search for articles includes book reviews. A separate "book review" feature does not exist.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication - JSTORNarrow by: Review
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years) - Project MUSESearch for author or title by selecting Author Reviewed or Title Reviewed fields.
Coverage: varies - Readers' Guide Full text MegaSelect Book review from Document Type section.
Coverage: 1890 - present
When you can't find a review
You've searched everywhere and can't locate a review of a particular book. Possible explanations are:
- the book is too new for anyone to have written and published a review
- some books just don't ever get a published review
In these cases you can:
- keep checking the databases suggested in this guide for newly-published reviews
- search the Internet for commentaries/discussions about the book on blog posts, Twitter threads, and podcasts
- look for brief book summaries including a table of contents on publisher/vendor sites