Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are NGOs?
Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) are voluntary, non-profit groups established by individuals or association of individuals. NGOs are not affiliated with any government operating locally, nationally, and/or internationally.
NGOs are focused on humanitarian issues, often social problems with a political aspect (eg. human rights, women's rights). They often work to make improvements in the environment and economic development.
Documents published by NGOs include:
Publications describing their work
Reports, analysis, newsletters
Policy suggestions (e.g. green papers)
CIAO-Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Eldis is a service from the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex. Provides free of charge access to full text documents.
Alliance of U.S.-based international nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), with more than 190 members working in every developing country. Includes searchable library of press releases.
International Relations and Security Network
An open access database, providins free access to reports, position papers and other documents from international relations organizations. Search the site or browse by subject or region.
The Union of International Associations (UIA)
The Union of International Associations (UIA) is a research institute and documentation centre, based in Brussels.
Custom NGO search engine (Stanford)
Custom search engine for NGO websites
Worldwide directory of Nongovernmental organizations searchable by country and area of interest.