Research guides: Legal Research: Find Legislation

Canadian Federal Legislation

Find Canadian Federal legislation, or law that has been enacted at the Federal level of government, by using the resources below.

Canadian Legal Information Institute Databases (CanLII)

Access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
Coverage: varies

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Nexis Uni

News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present

Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Westlaw Canada
Westlaw Canada is a legal database that offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian material as well as coverage of U.S. and International material.
Coverage: current

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Provincial Legislation

U.S. Legislation

International Legislation

Treaties

Find treaties on different topics, including wildlife, the environment, intellectual property and international treaties.

International Wildlife Law Treaties
Find treaties on animal welfare, biological diversity, fisheries, habitat protection, ocean, living resources, species-specific and regional treaties. Also find treaties from the Antarctic, Caribbean, Europe and Paific.
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators
Use this tool to find status data for environmental treaties, treaty text and other related information. Construct custom tables by selecting countries and treaties of interest.
International Treaties
New York University School of Law provides links to a wide number of treaties ranging from human rights to Indian Affairs to United Nations treaties and more.

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!