It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Small but powerful database specializing in public and allied health
Offers complete coverage of English language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, CINAHL offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Well-respected database covering a wide range of disciplines
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.
Articles on evidence-based medicine, including systematic reviews, clinical trials and health technology assessments. Coverage: current
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
health/medicine database with strength in pharmacy and global health journal coverage
EMBASE indexes international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
Note: Access A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1950 - present
Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), Medline provides citations, many with abstracts, to the world's journal literature. Sources include current biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries.
Articles, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. Coverage: 1952 - present
Articles, dissertations and books on sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, and nutrition. Coverage: 1830 to present
Produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus provides citations, with selected abstracts, to the world's literature in sport and fitness including sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography, physical fitness and recreation. Note: Access A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
ALWAYS connect to PubMed through the Library webpage. This enables the links to Getit@Waterloo and Waterloo full text journals
Check out these helpful tutorials, videos, and handouts:
PubMed applies MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to each article. These terms are used to group articles on similar topics. Useful MeSH headings for public health interventions which could be used in PubMed search strategies include:
Community health services
Preventive health services
Find a Specific Known Journal Title or Article
Get the full Article
Once you search a database you will see one of the following links associated with each result:
Get it at Waterloo
Click on one of these options in the database to see if the Library subscribes to that journal. If so, we can provide you with the full article.