It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interactions, drug identification, intravenous compatibility, patient education, toxicology, and calculators. Includes access to AHFS Drug Information (DI) and AHFS Essentials (good consultation talking points!).
Evidence based information on drugs, uses, identification, toxicology, diseases, acute care, drug interactions, and alternative medicine. CareNotes contain monographs about care and medications at a consumer level in several languages. *Must contact Pharmacy Liaison Librarian for username and password.*
Includes CareNotes which are monographs written at a consumer level on the care and medications for medical conditions. Note: Access Access is restricted to faculty, students and staff currently enrolled in the Pharmacy program at the University of Waterloo. Contact the Pharmacy Librarian for access information.
Pharmacotherapeutic textbooks, drug monographs, patient handouts, videos, study flashcards, NAPLEX review.
AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references. Tools include calculators, lab test information, and an integrated drug database.
Pharmacopeial standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements.
The United States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary (USPâ€“NF) is a combination of two compendia: the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It is a book of public pharmacopeial standards for chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, compounded preparations, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP, monographs for dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP, and excipient monographs are in the NF. The U.S. Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetics Act designates the USPâ€“NF as official compendia for drugs marketed in the United States.
Product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. Includes human pharmaceutical and biological drugs, veterinary drugs, and disinfectant products, and ~15,000 products which companies have notified Health Canada as being marketed.
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative therapies. Includes foods/herbs/supplements monographs, comparative effectiveness charts, various checkers (interactions, nutrient depletion, effectiveness, etc.)
*Student/Faculty/Staff access only*
Natural Medicines, founded by clinicians and researchers, is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
Explores natural health products that have been issued a product licence by Health Canada. This means that Health Canada has assessed these products and has idenfitifed them as safe, effective and of high quality under their recommended conditions of use. Licensed natural health products have an eight digit Natural Product Number (NPN) or Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM) on the label.
Part of the National Institutes of Health, and is the U.S. Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. Provides an alphabetical listing of health topics and herbs.
Ebook on the purpose and process of compounding; facilities, equipment and supplies; compounding with hazardous drugs; calculations; flavors, sweeteners and colours; preservation, sterilization; capsules; gels; suspensions; emulsions, and much more!
Contains selected official text from the United States Pharmacopeia (USP)–National Formulary (NF) which may be applicable to or useful for the practice of compounding. Standards on good compounding practices; monographs for compounded preparations for both human and veterinary use.
Authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
Regarding organic chemistry, Reaxys provides data such as specific bioassay results, logPs, and toxicity values. Use it to find reactions, experimental reaction text and substance-related information. It also indexes prophetic compounds. Reaxys provides deep coverage of structures, properties and citations in inorganic and organometallic chemistry, including phosphors, catalysts and polymers and other substances used in electronics, magnetics, optics and nanoscience. It covers general inorganic compounds, such as nano materials, zeolites, laser materials, coordination and solid-state compounds, glasses and ceramic materials, alloys, doped materials and minerals.
Provides chemical information including physical and chemical properties, reactions, and patents.
SciFinder covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences. It includes content curated by scientists, including substances, Markush and reaction information, patents, documents, experimental and predicted properties, and spectra.
Note: Access Access is restricted to faculty, students and staff currently affiliated with the University of Waterloo. Registration must be done on campus or using the VPN, and users must register with a University of Waterloo email address.
The Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) program is one of the most generous drug benefit programs in Canada, providing coverage for over 4,300 drug products, including nutrition products and diabetic testing agents. Drugs that are not listed in the Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary/Comparative Drug Index (Formulary) are also considered for coverage through the Ministry's Exceptional Access program on a case-by-case basis.
Provides factual information on serious or unexpected side effects or adverse reactions suspected of being associated with health products, such as prescription and non-prescription medications, natural health products, biologically derived products, and medical devices.
Contains information about suspected adverse reactions (also known as side effects) to health products. Adverse reaction reports are submitted by: consumers and health professionals, who submit reports voluntarily; and manufacturers and distributors.
One of the goals of ISMP is to collect, collate and analyze actual and potential medication errors reported by practitioners. From this, recommendations and strategies for reducing medication errors can be disseminated to others. This is a non-punitive and voluntary reporting – no identifying information is collected and the information is kept confidential.
Peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Provides data on maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects, and alternative therapies.
Evidence-based info for consumers and healthcare professionals about medication use during pregnancy. Recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MotherToBaby is run by the non-profit Organization of Teratology Information Specialists (OTIS).
Each chapter in this Ebook contains information regarding drugs that are appropriate for prescription during pregnancy and an assessment of the risk of a drug when exposure during pregnancy has already occurred.
Covers monitoring, chemistry, storage, compounding, and dosages. Designed for ease of use, the book surveys an exhaustive list of drugs with applications for a wide variety of species, including dogs, cats, exotic animals, and farm animals.
Ebook of drug monographs containing information on pharmacology, indications, adverse reactions, instructions for use, patient monitoring and lab tests, stability and storage, and dosing for small and large animals.