Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives 101: Find Primary Sources in Special Collections & Archives: Find Primary Sources

Find published primary sources

Once you have determined key events, dates, and people, you can try searching the library catalogue, for primary resources:

  • Consult the library catalogue to search for published primary sources at the University of Waterloo and 13 other Ontario university libraries.
  • Try to identify names of significant people or organizations related to your topic.
  • Use these names as your search terms when you perform a search by author.

Find unpublished primary sources at Waterloo

Our searchable Archives Database provides descriptive information about the literary and historical collections maintained by Special Collections & Archives at the University of Waterloo Library.

The database records span a variety of thematic areas that reflect the goals of the University of Waterloo’s teaching and research programmes. Collections have also been tagged by relevant academic discipline. If you’re unsure where to start, try browsing!

Please note that this database is a work in progress. You may come across descriptive records that appear incomplete, but rest assured that ongoing improvements are underway.

The University of Waterloo Archives houses official records of the University of Waterloo, including correspondence, reports, minutes, publications, architectural and building plans, photographs, ephemera, and memorabilia.

Find unpublished primary sources located elsewhere

Looking for primary sources located elsewhere? Try the following: