This page provides links to:
Another search option for ODESI
Data on Racialized Populations (Scholars Portal)
Global GIS (Geospatial Centre)
Human Activity and the Envrionment (StatsCanada)
Rural Land Statistics (StatsCanada)
See the Climate Change collection.
The Geospatial Centre is located on the third floor in the Dana Porter Library. The hours of operation are different than the library building, therefore please check before heading over. The Centre has a range of resources:
*One of the key takeaways is that staff will scan your map and email it to you,
Research guides to help you get started:
Special Collections & Archives houses almost 60,000 rare books and close to 17,000 periodicals which cover a broad range of subjects supporting the research and teaching functions of the University of Waterloo. Material in the collection dates from 1493 to the present day and includes works on dance, women’s studies, urban planning, the history of mathematics and computing, and private press imprints among others. All items can be located using the Library catalogue by first entering your search terms, and then selecting the “Dana Porter Library - Special Collections & Archives" facet, under Waterloo Library.
Canadian Conservation and Land Management (CCLM) Knowledge Network (cclmportal.ca)
contains three main research areas:
"The site provides a diverse range of content, including academic journal articles, projects, reports, fact sheets, newsletters, videos, an interactive map and more. The CCLM is a collaboration between Ducks Unlimited Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada Science and Technology Branch, InnoTech Alberta, the National Boreal Caribou Knowledge Consortium, Natural Resources Canada – Canadian Forest Service, and the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology - Centre for Boreal Research. " (source: CCLM webpage)
University of Oklahoma
The Dodge Family College of Arts and Sciences
Institute for Environmental Genomics
"[T]he International Forum on Advanced Environmental Sciences and Technology (iFAST) seminar series. iFAST aims to provide an interactive forum to bring eminent scientists together to share their most recent advances in environmental sciences and technology with interested students, faculty, and other researchers. It also provides an opportunity to foster interdisciplinary networking among environmental researchers, engineers, and the general audience."
Ecology seminars recommended by Waterloo Ecology Network (WEN) EcoEvo Journal Club
Main Seminars (ou.edu)
Restoration Resource Center A project of the Society for Ecological Restoration (ser-rrc.org)
"Ecological restoration is a young field that depends on knowledge gained through experience to advance the field. Yet, knowledge and advancements are often held in silos of individual practitioners, organizations, reports, community presentations, conferences, and scientific publications. Even at a local scale it can be difficult to understand where projects are happening, what their goals are, or whether projects are successful; at the national or global scale, this becomes impossible.
In 2017, SER launched the Restoration Resource Center to overcome knowledge silos and serve as a principle clearinghouse for information sharing on ecological restoration. Through its searchable databases, the RRC provides practitioners, researchers, educators, students, policy makers, and the public with access to resources, publications, webinars, projects, conference presentations, and information on leaders in the restoration field."