East Asian Studies: Reference Works

Reference sources are not meant to be read from "cover to cover" like other resources. These include encyclopedias, dictionaries, annuals and many others. They allow for quick consult for factual information.

Seeking out current and reliable reference sources provide an overview of a topic as well as the terminology and issues for a topic new to you.

Dictionaries

• Cambridge Dictionaries Online - an online version of Cambridge Dictionaries, English-Chinese
• Youdao Online Dictionary 有道词典 - a Chinese-English and English-Chinese dictionary, with functions include sentence translation and slang words

Encyclopedia

• Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture
• Encyclopedia of Chinese film
• Modern China : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism

Dictionaries

• Cambridge Dictionaries Online - an online version of Cambridge Dictionaries, English-Japanese
• Jisho Online Dictionary - a powerful Japanese online dictionary, support translations from English, Japanese and Romanji, word or text

Encyclopedia

• Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
• Kodasha Encyclopedia of Japan
• Japan Encyclopedia
• Modern Japan : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism

Dictionaries

• Cambridge Dictionaries Online - an online version of Cambridge Dictionaries, English-Korean
• NAVER Korean-English Dictionary - an online English-Korean and Korean-English dictionary, support translations from both English and Korean

Encyclopedia

• Encyclopedia of Korean Folk Literature = Han'guk minsok munhak sajon