We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Canadian magazine, newspaper, and broadcast media sources
There are 3 sections on this page:
Canadian magazines & newspapers ... digital & print options
Listed chronologically:
- Journaux. Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec1524 - 1970s. French and English language periodicals from Quebec.
- Canadiana1789 - 1940s. Find magazines and journals covering: medicine, politics, home life, agriculture, working conditions, youth, education, religion, and more.
For example,
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America (formerly American Indian Newspapers)A collection of papers from Indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.
Coverage: 1828 - 2016
- Canadian newspapersDates vary by title
... featured in the News Sources guide, UW Waterloo Library. - The Black Press in 19th-century Canada and BeyondThe Voice of the Fugitive (1851-1852)
The Provincial Freeman (1853-1876)
The Voice of the Bondsman (1856)
The True Royalist (1860-1861)
The Atlantic Advocate (1915-1917)
The Dawn of Tomorrow (1923-1972)
The Nova Scotia Gleaner (1929)
The Clarion--For Church and Community (1946-1949)
- Paper of RecordArchive of selected 19 and 20th century community newspapers from across Canada, the United States, and other countries.
Coverage: varies
- Ontario Community Newspapers1800s - 1970s
- Ontario English newspapers on microfilm (some digitized)1800s - early 1900s.
- Search Canadiana for a number of Berlin / Kitchener newspapersDaily News
Berlin [Kitchener], Ontario [1878-1897]; 1 issue
Weekly News Record
Berlin [Kitchener], Ontario [1911-19--]; 1 issue
Daily Telegraph
Berlin [Kitchener], Ontario [1893]; 1 issue
Berlin News Record
Berlin [Kitchener], Ontario [1904-1916]; 20 issues
The News Record
Kitchener (formerly Berlin), Ontario [1916-1920]; 9 issues
Der Canadische Bauernfreund
Waterloo, West-Canada [Ontario]: Jakob Truscher [1850-1918]; 3 issues
The Berlin Telegraph and Waterloo County General Intelligencer
Berlin, Canada West [Kitchener, Ont.]: Elias Eby [1853-1899]; 1 issue
The News-Record
Berlin [Kitchener], Ontario [1897-1920]; 13 issues
Kitchener Daily Telegraph
Kitchener, Ontario : David Bean & Sons [1919-1921]; 8 issues
The Daily Telegraph Kitchener, Ontario : publisher not identified, [1921-1922]; 3 issues
Weekly Record
Kitchener, Ontario [1893-1897]; 4 issues
The Weekly News Record and Sugar Beet Advocate
Berlin [Kitchener], Ont. : The German Printing & Publishing Co., Limited, Proprietors, [1901-1904]; 5 issues
Der Deutsche Canadier
Berlin, Canada West [Ont.]: Elias Eby, Eigenthvemer [1841-1865]; 1 issue
- Globe and Mail, Canada's Heritage from 1844 [digital archive]Search news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1844 - 4 years ago - Toronto Star [digital archive]Search for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1894 - 3 years ago
- Waterloo ChronicleCoverage: 1869-2016 (some years missing)
- Canadian mail order catalogues1880 - 1975.
From Eaton’s Fall and Winter 1948-49 catalogue, NHL style hockey sweaters for $2.95.
- Maclean's1905 - present. [Went by the title: Busy Man's Magazine until 1911]
Fifty-nine Years of Nation Building by Nelson, John. Maclean's, Jul 1, 1926, 39, 13, page 3.
- Independent Voices: an Open Access Collection of an Alternative PressPeriodicals by feminists, student radicals, Indigenous peoples, anti-war activists, Black rights advocates, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+) activists, extreme right-wing press, and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present - Nexis UniNews, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present - CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
- select Canadian magazines listDates and format (print versus online) vary by title.
Find records for [Canadian] Commentator, Chatelaine, Maclean's, and Saturday Night, and others.
Canadian broadcast media sources
- CBC Archives siteSearch for documentaries and clips from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation's archive.
- Curio.caVideos and sound recordings of selected documentaries produced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC / Radio-Canada). Find a selection of English and French language television and radio programs, and news reports.
Coverage: 1945 - present - NFB.ca (National Film Board of Canada)Link to documentaries, animations, experimental films, and fiction produced by the National Film Board of Canada.
Coverage: 1930s - present
- TVO Archive site1970s - present.
Search for documentaries and clips from TV Ontario's archive.
Indexes for Canadian magazines & newspapers
- Libris CanadianaIndexes articles from a number of Canadian periodicals of historical significance.
Coverage: 1867 - 1976
- Canadian Periodical Index
1920 - 2002Tracks Canadian Forum, Chatelaine, Public Affairs, and Canadian Speeches.
Call number: Abs AI 3. C118x Porter main floor. - The "Alternative" Press in Canada
1960 - 1972A checklist of underground, revolutionary, radical and other alternative periodicals.