Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some suggested international trade databases:
Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database (Statistics Canada)
The Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) online database offers detailed export and import trade data using the Harmonized System (HS) classification of goods (based on the 6-digit commodity level). Select a trading partner and specific variables (e.g., country, province, state, year, month, or frequency) or search by commodity or Harmonized System code.
Use CIMT's multiple drop down menus to choose your variables and create your own customized data reports, generate data tables directly on screen for a quick review, or save reports as spreadsheets in CSV (comma-separated value) format for future manipulation.
Trade Data Online (Industry Canada)
Trade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
Trade Data provides custom-based statistics on international trade in goods to help you:
•Find new import or export markets;
•Determine competition for your products;
•Identify domestic opportunities for import replacement;
•Discover a country's trade balance.
•Find out what products countries are importing, exporting or re-exporting throughout the world.
Trade Statistics by Country / Region (World Bank)
WITS TradeStat Database is designed with the purpose of providing the latest international merchandise and commercial services trade data and overview of country and region's imports and exports, tariff and non-tariff measures.
View international trade statistics by country or region to obtain the following (i) country or region's overall exports, imports and tariffs (i) details of exports and imports with various partner countries along with partner share and Most Favored Nation (MFN) and Effective Applied Tariff (AHS) tariffs imposed. (iii) Details on various products exported and imported globally and with individual partner countries (iv) Trade indicators like number of export and import partners, herfindahl hirschman index, Index Of Export Market Penetration, Revealed Comparative Advantage (RCA) and much more(iv) Relevant indicators from World Development Indicators (WDI) like GDP, GDP per Capita, Trade as percentage of GDP, Services Exports and Imports, taxes on exports and more.
Trade and Tariff Data (WTO)
The World Trade Organization (WTO) provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
UN Comtrade Database (United Nations)
UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
Some Statistics Canada Tools
Here are two fun interactive tools from Statistics Canada:
Canada and the World Statistics Hub (Statistics Canada)
The Canada and the World Statistics Hub provides information related to Canada's economic and financial activity with the world. It brings together data from a number of Statistics Canada products and presents it in a single interactive analytical tool.
Information is presented by theme such as trade, investment, employment and travel. The Hub also provides links to more detailed data and information regarding definitions, concepts and methods.
Choose the country and then the theme (in this case, trade).
International Trade Explorer (Statistics Canada)
"A new suite of four easy-to-use data visualization tools, now available, enable users to review and analyze large volumes of data through an interactive world map, a tree map, a stacked bar chart and a provincial view. Use this new tool to explore specific trade relationships between Canada and its trading partners, and how those relationships have changed over time."
Which to use? Which to use?
Just as you need to evaluate articles, you need to evaluate statistics and data, specifically, their source and any underlying methodologies which may influence which source you choose to use.
- are the data reported "as is" from the native country or does the aggregator rework them to fit a template?
- how do they define the variables?
- do they have a bias toward G7/G20 and/or underdeveloped countries?
Of course, your choice could also be determined by whether it covers the country/ies, timeframe, and variables in which you are interested!