Skip to main content

LIBRARY

Arts 140: Images at Work: Your library connection

A Library guide supporting Dr. Brassard's Arts 140 section

Your library connection

Welcome!

This page can help you with your annotated bibliography and critical analysis paper. The sections below target ways to:

  • Create your search term
  • Search the library catalogue for online resources
  • Find arts-related databases to search for information
  • Use and search in ARTstor
  • Get tips on writing an annotated bibliography
  • Cite your sources using Chicago style 
  • Get one-on-one research assistance

If you have a question, please reach out. I'm here to help. 

Create your search term

Once you've picked your topic and created your research question, you can create your search term. 

  • Start by listing keywords that best describe your topic. These may be a single term (example: media) or phrases (example: "social media"). Consider synonyms and out-dated terms as well. 
  • You will use these terms to craft your catalogue, database or search engine search.

Try it yourself by filling out a Search Statement worksheet. If you complete a search statement worksheet, I'm willing to review it and offer suggestions.

Online books with the Library's catalogue

Click the image below to open the Library's catalogue. The second location option will limit your search to online material only.

Library catalogue advanced search showing the "Waterloo online resources" radio button selected."

Recommended Arts-related databases

The following is a list of recommended databases to search for articles about fine arts and visual culture:

ARTstor

Looking for citation help?

Librarian

Carmen Peters's picture
Carmen Peters
Contact:
Carmen Peters

Having trouble finding good resources? Let me know and I'll do what I can to help you.

519-888-4567. x. 45067

Would you like to set up a meeting?

Contact me about any research or library-related questions you have. 

For example, I can:

  • review and comment on your search statement worksheet 
  • help you find additional sources to fill in gaps
  • help you with a tricky citation
  • guide you on how to use library databases
  • ... and more!

Tips on writing an annotated bibliography

The Annotated bibliography planner is a tool that guides you through the steps AND if you enter the start and due dates, it calculates how much time to spend on each component. It will help you stay on track and on time. Click the image below to open the Annotated Bibliography planner. Note: This planner will help you calculate how much time to spend on each component, but pay close attention to Dr. Brassard's assignment instructions.

Annotated Bibliography

Submit questions, problems, and feedback to library staff

Link to Ask Us service