Research guides: Fine 130: Introduction to Digital Imaging: Your library connection

Welcome!

This page can help you find resources for your various FINE 130 assignments. The sections below target ways to:

Tips on how to search for images
Recognize Creative Commons licenses (and what they mean)
Suggested online image collections for public domain and creative common images
Cite your sources using MLA style
Get one-on-one research assistance

If you have a question, please reach out! Contact me, your Fine Arts Librarian, and we can talk about your search over email, Microsoft Teams, or Skype!

Searching for images

1. Coming up with search terms

When thinking of your topic, consider all the words that might be used to describe it. The different words you come up with can be used when you search in different image databases and online image collections! Try the following tips:

What concepts are you interested in explore? List keywords that describe the concept.
Having trouble finding sources? Consider using a thesaurus to find synonyms and out-dated terms.

Try recording your ideas by using the Search Statement worksheet. If you complete a search statement worksheet and want a second opinion, feel free to email me! We can look over it together.

2. What to look for

When you're ready to search for images, the Online Image Collection course offers some suggestions of different image collections that might be useful in your search and a quick refresher about copyright and creative commons licenses! Here's some quick tips as you start to find images:

In a way that works for you, write down the image information, such as the URL, creator name and title of work. This can be used later for the MLA citation.
Note the copyright or creative commons policy for the image. Creative commons licenses typically look like the image below or may be written out, such as 'CC-BY'. This will tell you what you can and cannot do with the image.
If there is no license, check the policy page from the website to see if it offers information on what can and cannot be done with their images.

Recommended online image collections

The following is a list of suggested spaces to search for creative common licensed and public domain images. Additional image collection suggestions and how to search within them can be found in the Online Image Collection course:

Special Collections & Archive's Kitchener-Waterloo Record Photographic Negative Collection
This collection holds over 2 million negatives taken between 1938 and 2001. When you click on an image, pay attention to the Usage rights. Be sure it states "Public Domain" if you would like to use it for your work!
Flickr
Flickr is a photo-sharing community with billions of photos.
Note: Not all images in Flickr are open for use. When searching, select 'All creative commons' under license types and pay close attention to the license of the images you find.
Pexels
Pexels License means all photos and videos are free to use. Photos and videos can be modified.
Restrictions: Identifiable people may not appear in a bad light or in a way that is offensive.
Unaltered copies of photos or videos may not be sold in print or redistributed electronically.
Pixabay
Pixabay License means all photos and videos are free to use, except in cases mentioned in "What is not allowed." Content can be modified.
Restrictions: Identifiable people may not appear in a bad light or in a way that is offensive.
Unaltered copies of content may not be sold in print or redistributed electronically.
Images may not be used with identifiable brands to create a misleading association with a product or service.

Looking for citation help?

Works Cited: A Quick Guide (The MLA Style Center)
Useful accompaniment to the MLA Handbook (8th edition).
MLA Style (8th Edition)
Integrated lessons on formatting, style, and citations in MLA Style.
Citations by Format (MLA Style, 8th edition)
Examples of citations by format provided by the MLA Style Center.

Liaison Librarian for Fine Arts