Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arts 130: The Majority and the Minority: Get started

Introduction

Welcome to the library guide for Arts 130: The Majority and the Minority (Dr Ezeh). This guide provides information on basic library use. The librarian for this class is Tom Harding. If you have any questions about library services or resources, please contact him (see box at right).

Library services

For updates on which library services are available, see the library COVID-19 updates page.

The Dana Porter Library is currently open. However, the book stacks remain closed. To borrow books, one must request them first in the catalogue. You may pick up book requests in person at the library, or request to have them mailed to you. Our books by mail service is free for students.

Library websites

The library has two websites: our information site and our catalogue.

1. lib.uwaterloo.ca

This is the library home page. Access this site to learn about library resources, services, and other relevant information.

2. omni.lib.uwaterloo.ca

Omni is our library catalogue. This is where our books, journals, and articles are listed. Use this resource to begin your search.

Waterloo shares Omni with a consortium of 16 Ontario university libraries. As a UW student, you may borrow print books from all institutions without any restrictions. Within the record for a book, you will see which libraries own copies. To borrow a book from another university, log in and select "request."

Databases

What is a database?

Databases are collections of information to which the library subscribes, through private companies such as ProQuest and Ebsco. Databases can contain articles, book chapters, primary sources, or other items. They usually have a mix of citations entries and full-text items.

Some databases are interdisciplinary (such as Scopus) while other are subject specific. Choose a database based on your individual research needs.

How to find databases

To find databases, start at the library home page (lib.uwaterloo.ca). In the left-hand "quick links" menu, click "databases." Browse by title or subject area. Read the descriptions below each to find one that will work for you.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Tom Harding
Contact:
Dana Porter Library
519-888-4567 x 42906
thomas.harding@uwaterloo.ca