It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Coverage: 1966 - present
A search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature. Coverage: varies
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.
Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. Coverage: current
MarketLine Advantage can be browsed by Industries, Geographics, Companies, and Databases. The databases include: Country Statistics, Financial Deals Tracker, Company Prospector, Investment & Advisory Prospector, Company Report Generator, City Statistics, City Data, and Market Data Analysis.
Materials / chemical / physical data
There is no one source that provides ALL data which is why several databases are offered. If you don't find the data you need in one of the following sources, then please try another.
Provides chemical information including physical and chemical properties, reactions, and patents. Coverage: 1907 to present
SciFinder covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences. It includes content curated by scientists, including substances, Markush and reaction information, patents, documents, experimental and predicted properties, and spectra.
Note: Access Access is restricted to faculty, students and staff currently affiliated with the University of Waterloo. Registration must be done on campus or using the VPN, and users must register with a University of Waterloo email address.
Authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Coverage: 1779 - present
Regarding organic chemistry, Reaxys provides data such as specific bioassay results, logPs, and toxicity values. Use it to find reactions, experimental reaction text and substance-related information. It also indexes prophetic compounds. Reaxys provides deep coverage of structures, properties and citations in inorganic and organometallic chemistry, including phosphors, catalysts and polymers and other substances used in electronics, magnetics, optics and nanoscience. It covers general inorganic compounds, such as nano materials, zeolites, laser materials, coordination and solid-state compounds, glasses and ceramic materials, alloys, doped materials and minerals.