Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these databases to find articles which have cited a particular article of interest to you:
Vision Specific Databases
Indexes many hard to find optometry and vision science journals. From ICO (Illinois College of Optometry)
Contact Lens Update
From the UWaterloo's Centre for Ocular Research and Education this is a contact lens specific resource that includes articles from experts, highlights from major contact lens meetings, clinical images, and videos of complications.
These databases contain citation information (title, author, journal, volume, issue, page and associated index terms) for academic research articles on optometry and vision science. Click on the Get it@Waterloo button for the full text article.
Clinical Medicine Databases
These databases are freely available to search online. However, access to full-text content may be restricted. All have features that support the identification of high quality clinically relevant research.
The Cochrane Library databases provide systematic review abstracts of intervention research, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
Medline - PubMed
Medline is the premier health and medicine electronic database for peer reviewed journal articles.
Medline - Ovid
Popular health and medicine database with sophisticated search options
TRIP covers guidelines from North America, Europe and internationally. Select 'Guidelines' filter on results page to limit to practice guidelines.
NICE: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (U.K.)
British clinical guidelines authored by NICE. Search by keyword, or explore by subject area.
EMBASE (Ovid) - Biomedical, great drug index
Health and medicine -good supplement to MEDLINE
CINAHL - Nursing
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Journal database specializing in nursing, public health, and allied health.
From the American Psychological Association. Includes PsycInfo
These multidisciplinary journal databases include articles on health science, engineering, technology, business and more.
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources covering nearly 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers.
Coverage is 1966 to present. Unlimited users.
Web of Science
A collection of literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities. Is a great tool for cited reference searching.
Science Citation Index coverage is 1899 to present. Unlimited users.
UWaterloo research and scholarship, produced by its faculty, students, and staff.
Dissertations and Theses
Resources for finding dissertations and theses from Waterloo and other institutions. These are not peer-reviewed academic journal articles.