Skip to main content

LIBRARY

Psychology: Cite Your Work/Refworks

Style Guides APA

book cover of the publication manual of the american psychological association

 

APA Style (American Psychological Association) is a commonly used style in the social sciences.  Borrow the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association or use one of the online help guides below.

APA Mini Style Guide (UofG)

RefWorks

refworks logoRefWorks will allow you to create your own personal citation database easily and quickly by importing references from text files or online databases. You can then can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format your bibliography.

Do you need the University of Waterloo Group Code ?

See below for instructions to import references from major Psychology databases into RefWorks.

PsycINFO/PsycARTICLES/PsycCRITIQUES

  1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.
  2. Click the Export to RefWorks button.
  3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so.
  4. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
  5. Click on Update Marked List if you wish to compile records from numerous searches. When complete, click on Marked Records.  If you want to immediately export your marked selections without adding them to a list, simply click on the RefWorks button.

JSTOR

  1. Conduct your search and click on the record you want.
  2. Click on Export this Citation and select RefWorks.
  3. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so.
  4. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

Note: To export multiple items at one time you must sign up for a free JSTOR account. Account holders can Mark Citations, click Save, go to My JSTOR and select Saved Citations, Export, and then RefWorks.

Scopus

  1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.
  2. Click on the Output button.
  3. Select Export as the desired output type.
  4. Select RefWorks direct export as the export format.
  5. Select the format you prefer.  For the complete record, select Complete Format under citation format.
  6. Click the Export button.
  7. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so.
  8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 Note:  You can bypass logging in by entering your RefWorks login information in your Scopus My Profile area and selecting RefWorks Settings.  Entering your information in this area will also allow Scopus to display a RefWorks icon next to records in Scopus that you already have in your RefWorks database, helping prevent the importing of duplicate records.  If you have imported the Complete Format it will also update the number of times cited within your RefWorks database.  

Web of Science

  1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to export to RefWorks.
  2. Click on the Output button.
  3. Select Export as the desired output type.
  4. Select RefWorks direct export as the export format.
  5. Select the format you prefer.  For the complete record, select Complete Format under citation format.
  6. Click the Export button.
  7. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so.
  8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 Note:  You can bypass logging in by entering your RefWorks login information in your Scopus My Profile area and selecting RefWorks Settings.  Entering your information in this area will also allow Scopus to display a RefWorks icon next to records in Scopus that you already have in your RefWorks database, helping prevent the importing of duplicate records.  If you have imported the Complete Format it will also update the number of times cited within your RefWorks database.  

PubMed

  1. Conduct your search and select articles of interest by clicking box next to title
  2. Save articles to clipboard using the Send To: Clipboard feature
  3. When completed, open the clipboard then select Send To: then File
  4. Change Format to MEDLINE
  5. Save to your computer as a .txt file

Use Refworks to import the .txt file containing the MEDLINE format of the references.

  1. Log in to RefWorks.
  2. Select References, then Import
  3. Use Import Filter/Data Source labeled NLM PubMed
  4. Browse to the location you saved your .txt file and open it (under "Import Data from the following Text File").
  5. Click the Import button at the bottom of the screen.
  6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson Web)

  1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want. 
  2. Click the Get Marked button or the Exporting/Citing tab.
  3. Click the Export button.  Choose to export the marked list or an alternate set of records.
  4. Select RefWorks' Direct Export Tool in the Download Record(s) into: area.
  5. Click the Export button.
  6. You will now be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so.
  7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.