Skip to main content

LIBRARY

News Sources Guide: Newspapers by Title

Identify sources for current or older stories; old newspapers on microfilm; and stories from alternative presses.

American newspapers by title

  • Atlanta Constitution (Atlanta, GA)
  • Boston Globe (Boston, MA)
  • Chicago Defender (Chicago, IL)
  • Chicago Tribune (Chicago, IL)
  • Christian Science Monitor (Boston, MA)
  • Hartford Courant (Hartford, CT)
  • Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Milwaukee Journal (Milwaukee, WI)
  • New York Times (New York City, NY)
  • Times -- Picayune (New Orleans, LA)
  • Wall Street Journal (New York City, NY)
  • Washington Post (Washington, DC)

Atlanta Constitution (Atlanta, GA)

Available electronically:

ProQuest Full Text (1868-1945)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Boston Globe (Boston, MA)

Available electronically:

ProQuest Full Text (Mar.4, 1872-Dec.31, 1927)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Chicago Defender (Chicago, IL)

Available electronically:

ProQuest Full Text (1910-1975)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Chicago Tribune (Chicago, IL)

Available electronically:

ProQuest Full Text (Apr.23, 1849-Dec.31, 1986)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor
MIC S140
(Jan.-May 1974/July 1974-Apr. 1976)

Christian Science Monitor (Boston, MA)

Available electronically:

Factiva (Sept. 30, 1988-present/ selective coverage)
LexisNexis Academic (Jan. 2, 1980-present)
ProQuest Full Text (Nov. 25, 1908-Dec. 31, 1996)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor
MIC S82
(1908-2005 some years missing)

Hartford Courant (Hartford, CT)

Available electronically:

ProQuest Full Text (1764-1984)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA)

Available electronically:

ProQuest Full Text (Dec. 4, 1881-Dec. 31, 1986)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor
MIC S128
(1974-1989/June 30, 1989/July 16-Dec. 31 2000)

Milwaukee Journal (Wilwaukee, WI)

Available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor
MIC S132
(Jan. 1974-1975/1979-1981)

New York Times (New York City, NY)

Available electronically:

Factiva (Jan. 1, 1996-present)
LexisNexis Academic (June 1, 1980-present)
ProQuest Full Text (Sept. 18, 1851-Dec. 31, 2006)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Available in microfilm:

MIC S18
(1857-present)

Times - Picayune (New Orleans, LA)

Available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor
MIC S116
(1974-1975)

Wall Street Journal (New York City, NY)

Available electronically:

ABI/Inform Global (Jan. 1, 1984-present)
Factiva (June 13, 1979-present)
ProQuest Full Text (July 8, 1889-Dec. 31, 1992)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor

MIC S59
(1955-1974/Sept. 1975-present)

Washington Post (Washington, DC)

Factiva (Jan. 1, 1984-present)
LexisNexis Academic (Jan. 1, 1977-present)
ProQuest Full Text (Dec. 12, 1877-Dec. 31, 1992)

NOTE: Off campus access is restricted to UW faculty, students, and staff.

Available in microfilm:

UW Porter. Microform Area. 1st Floor

MIC S110
(1974-June 1975/ Sept. 1975-present)