Research guides: Math communication courses: Find papers

Multidisciplinary research databases

Not sure where to start? The databases below cover many disciplines including math, life sciences, business, technology, economics, health, medicine, and physical sciences.

Scopus
Includes subjects such as technology, social sciences, science and engineering.
Web of Science
Includes subjects such as technology, social sciences, science and engineering.
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.
EBSCOhost
Search multiple databases at once.
This online platform hosts multiple resources.

Note: Offline digital lending: Requires Adobe Digital Editions.
ProQuest
Search multiple databases at once.
This online platform hosts multiple resources.

Mathematics research databases

MathSciNet
Articles in mathematics, computer science, statistics, and econometrics, as well as applications to science and engineering.
Coverage: 1940 - present
Produced by the American Mathematical Society, MathSciNet provides reviews, with abstracts, to the world's literature in mathematics and related areas. MathSciNet is compiled from the print equivalents, Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Reviews are classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.

MathSciNet Quickstart Guide

zbMATH Open
zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) indexes research in pure
and applied mathematics.
From the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Heidelberg Academy of
Sciences and Humanities, and FIZ Karlsruhe, zbMATH Open contains around 4.2
million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts drawn from more than
3,000 journals and book series, and some 190,000 books. Coverage starts in
the 18th century, is complete from 1868 to the present day, due to the
integration of the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" database.
zbMATH Open has been available as an open access database since January 2021.

Social science research databases

ERIC
Indexes educational-related journals, conferences, government documents, bibliographies, and books.
Coverage: 1966 - present
APA PsycNET
Platform for behavioral and social science content from the American Psychological Association.
Coverage: 1880s - present
This online platform hosts multiple resources.
Sociological Abstracts
Articles, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.
Coverage: 1952 - present
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Papers, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs relating to international affairs.
Coverage: 1991 - present
Find working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO also includes case studies written by international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Articles, abstracts and citations from international journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, public policy, public administration and law.
Coverage: 1975 - present
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Identify journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews, from around the world relating to anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - present

Science research databases

ADS: Astrophysics Data System
Digital library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. To access articles paid for by Waterloo: create an account, open your "Settings", click "Library Link Server" and add Waterloo. Look for "My Institution" in the paper's record to be linked to full text.
The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.2 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searched via our full-text search interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives.
American Physical Society (APS) Journals
Interface for searching articles in leading international physics research journals.
Coverage: Varies
PubMed
Articles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present
PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Reaxys
Authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
Coverage: 1779 - present
SPIE Digital Library
Articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations in optics, photonics, imaging, lasers, sensing, and nanotechnology.
Coverage: 1990 - present
The SPIE Digital Library provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals, Conference Proceedings, and books.

History research databases

America History and Life
Identifies articles, book reviews, and dissertations on American and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Coverage: mid 1950s - present
Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Indexes historical scholarship relating to the British Isles, the British Empire, and the Commonwealth. Time periods range from 55 BC.
Coverage: 1901 - present
Historical Abstracts
Articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Coverage: 1955 - present
Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.

Engineering and computer science research databases

ACM Digital Library
Conference proceedings, books, articles, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles relating to computing and information technology.
Coverage: 1947 - present
ACM Digital Library contains bibliographic information on ACM publications since 1947 and includes full-text of documents where available. Works published by affiliated organizations are included on a selected basis.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Resources for computer science, electrical engineering, electronics engineering, and mechanical engineering.
Coverage: 1988 - present
IEEE Xplore provides access to journals, annual conference proceedings, and IEEE technical standards.

Business and news research databases

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
Full text articles on a range of topics from Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapaers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1988 - present
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Finding research databases for other disciplines

Research guides at Waterloo
Guides are created for each department on campus and list subject resources for each discipline. Find research in Computer Science, Engineering, Physics, Biology, Business, Psychology, Education, and more.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!